Gail Travels: Balinsasayaw Twin Lakes of Sibulan, Negros Oriental (with videos and photos)

20171027_130510-01.jpeg

Only few people knew that I was gone for awhile and had not been engaged with the community because I spent a week and few days travelling. I almost decided to stay there for good because I fell in love with some of the beautiful spots on the island of Negros. One of those places was the Twin Lakes of Sibulan.

The The Balinsasayao Twin Lakes is part of the protected areas of the country, meaning, it is under the watch and care of the Local Government Unit of Sibulan, Negros Oriental, and of the Department of Environmental and Natural Resources Region7 Region7.

When an area is under PAMB, it means no other structures could be built there unless permit will be given. It must also be well-mainted by the locals and of the local government unit. I studied about this because I tried to study the structure of PAMB when I applied in DENR-PAMB Mt. Kitanglad Range.

For those who are nature lovers, and those who love to relax with the rawest form of environment, I surely recommend this place for you. I am sure you would also recommend this place to your friends.

002.jpg

On my recent post, I wrote there that I travelled to Dumaguete City via plane from Laguindingan Airport (LAX according to them). I spent few days then in Amlan, which is a municipal of Negros Oriental.

001.jpg

From my James's place, we travelled for almost an hour via motorcycle since it was the only means of transportation that was available for us at that moment. I also insisted on wearing helmet just in case something happens. Road kill is scary.

It was quite dangerous for me because I was really very sleepy. I lacked sleep for I was not used to sleeping on the sofa. I was also sleepy because the weather is so cold. James kept on waking me up because my eyes tend to close from time to time. Cold October breeze!

20171027_133202.jpg
You could actually see on the picture below that the fogs were going down to the foothills of the mountains. Pretty cold right?


This video was taken since we were few miles away from the twin lakes. I was so amazed that I wanted to build a house with such view. Better than a house built on quick sand right? Imagine waking up and seeing the river first thing in the morning. I bet the weather would always be great for sleeping during ber months (September, October, November, and December).

20171027_113918.jpg
This is a shot I took just in case the video would not be working on your devices. Simple hues to green from trees and sugar canes.

Twin Lake: Danao Lake

20171027_120715.jpg
Before heading to the lakes, this small cottage with an assigned officer will welcome you. Dayon means welcome in Bisaya.

We were asked to pay Php78.00 for two persons including the parking fee. They also give discounts to students and senior citizens. Was it really Php78.00? Anyway, it comes with an original receipt.

20171027_120701.jpg
Basically the structure of the mountains and lakes together looks like this. For the past weeks, there were landslides lately due to heavy rains and typhoons. We also opt to have a motorcycle ride because some portions of the road were not accessible for cars. I was really scared those especially on the slopy areas. I kept praying to God and told Him that I still want to live long. Haha! But seriously, I did that.

20171027_121241.jpg
This lake is 30 plus hectares wide. I really wanted to swim but we were advised not to. Probably because of the bacteria residing in the body of water. I just fell in love on how serene and calm it it. I also pictured in my mind that groups of zombies would emerge on the surface of water.

20171027_121508.jpg
They have cottages so that local and foreign tourists could enjoy a picnic! There were Pakistanis who were enjoying the view when we arrived.

Basically, these are some of the things you are allowed and not allowed to do which was found on a signage near the lake:
You are not allowed to swim in the lake
One is not allowed to enter the Strict Protection Zone without permission from PAMB
Loud noise is not allowed
Taking flora and fauna (animals and plants) is strictly prohibited
Pollutants are not allowed to be used in the area

These don'ts are made mainly because DENR wanted to protect this area. Basically, all you need to do is just enjoy the view. If you wish to break the law, I suggest you break it somewhere else because violators will surely be penalized. These lakes and other protected areas had been a home to various species of ferns, birds, and a lot more.

Second Lake

While heading to the second lake, which was 70 hectares big, our motorcycle could not take both of us because it was so steep. My boyfriend was riding his motorcycle, meanwhile I hiked. I swear, it was the worst ten minutes of my life and I cursed every second of it because I was catching my breath with every step that I made. I was so tensed too because there might be snakes around and I might end up being bitten since I cannot afford to run.

20171027_123008.jpg
We were then welcome by some locals who sold pasalubong to the tourists. They sell keychains, bracelets with Friends on it, and a cute replica of a voodoo doll. I wanted to buy the latter but I might end up being interrogated by my boyfriend.

The locals were very accomodating as well. They tried to answer all of our questions. They even helped up with our parking.

20171027_123041.jpg
I would like to take back what I said awhile ago. You can actually enjoy different activities while on the twin lakes. There is also bird-watching. There were even locals who were fishing on the lake. Every activity has corresponding fees.

Entrance Fees
Filipino Citizens
Adults - Php30.00 per person
Students- Php 15.00 per person
Persons with Disabilities - FREE
Foreigners - Php 100.00

Use of Picnic Tables- Php 25.00/ hr
Cottages - Php500.00/ day and Php1000.00/ Night
Camping Site - Php 200.00 on a designated spot
Swimming Pool - Php 50.00 per head
Sports Facilities - Php 100.00 per person
Docking area for anchorage/ berthing facilities for small boats- Php 500.00/boat/ hr
Special docking area for yacht - Php 5000.00/ day

Parking Area
Tricycle/ Motorcycle - Php 20.00 for first two hours and Php 5.00 for succeeding hour
Cars - Php 45.00 first two hours and Php10.00 for succeeding hour
Coasters/ Jeepneys - Php 60.00 for first two hours and Php 20.00 for succeeding hour
Mini-bus and tour bus - Php 150.00 for first two hours and Php30.00 for each succeeding hour

Recreational Activites
Water based activities - Php60.00 for Filipinos and Php 100.00 for Foreigners
Hiking and biking within designated areas - Php60.00 for Filipinos and Php 100.00 for Foreigners

Scuba Diving
Filipinos - Php800.00 per person
Foreigners - Php 1,800.00 per person

20171027_123336.jpg
Their restaurant does not offer foods but some equipments such as waterproof bag, slippers, hats, souvenir t-shirts, and a lot more. That is just in case you forgot to bring one or chose not too but got enticed to involve yourself with activities because the lake is so inviting.

20171027_123147.jpg
The are is huge which means you can hang out with your friends or make friends with other tourists!

20171027_123423.jpg
I did not miss a chance to have a photo with the lake no matter how messed up I look. My make up was really useless!

20171027_123553.jpg
Before we went to the lake, we witnessed the Fern Farm inside the Balinsasayaw Twin Lakes Natural Park. According to DENR Resolution No. 2014 - 05 of Region VII, it is a 1.9 hectare fern farm. The Balinsasayaw Twin Lakes Natural Park is 8, 016.05 hectates all in all. It has been considered as the only remaining rainforest of the island of Negros.

The ferm farm aims to produce more ferns which serves as food and medicine and further studies had been made that showed that ferns can grow on humic volcanic soils. The resolution also stated that there would be no commercial fertilizers that will be used in propagating the ferns.

20171027_123804.jpg

There were signs posted for the tourists to know more about the ferns. This IEC materials are very useful especially when one is so curious in knowing more about these creatures.

20171027_123824.jpg
Please zoom in the photo if you cannot read what was written. ^^

20171027_123840.jpg

And here are some of the various ferns available at their fernery. I did not take time on walking further because I was afraid of snakes. I really had an encounter with snakes while I was working at DENR Regional Office 10.

20171027_123859.jpg

20171027_123909.jpg

20171027_123945.jpg

After a short trip at the Fernary, I finally got to see the 70 hectare lake, but we needed to walk on this road and slippery stairs. I needed to be extra-careful since I am known as a walking disaster.

20171027_124638.jpg

20171027_125209.jpg

And finally the magnificent lake. I really took a chance of taking photos of it. I was also hooked up with the kids who were fishing on the lake. I tried to fish, but unfortunately I was no good. Shame on me! Haha! They were so friendly. It was okay for this little boy to take a photo of him and asked him whether or not I could post it on my blog.

20171027_130459.jpg

20171027_130131.jpg

Look at his catch though! He even had few more catch before we left. He actually caught a lot of Tilapia. What a skillful child! I was also chat with these kids and asked them how they are related to each other. They said they are cousins and they were fishing since it was still sembreak. The little girl shyly hid her feet because it was full of scars and scratch marks. It was a little awkwrd though.

20171027_125937.jpg

I really wanted to try a lot of activities but we were really time-constrained. Next time perhaps? :)

One Stop at Azalea Resto

Before we head to Dumaguete City, we had a stop at Azalea Resto. As you can see on the photo above and on the photos below, it is a wonderful restaurant that offers you not just great tasting dishes, but also a wonderful sight of the mountains and of the river outside. For those who are bringing kids, supervision is needed since the porch is more than twenty feet below. The food price ranges from 100.00 Php - Php300.00. They also offer yummy shakes for people of all ages. We actually ordered chocolate shake since we decided to have lunch at Gerry's Resto in downtown Dumaguete.

20171027_140916.jpg
This room allows you to read books. This place is also great to mingle with your love ones and friends as the cold weather makes the conversation smoother. If you feel so cold, you can close the sliding door while sipping the coffee they serve you.

20171027_140858.jpg
There kitchen is visible to the customers that is why you can make sure whether they serve you good, clean, and healthy food. I took some photos of the kitchen too for future reference. Someday maybe?

20171027_135240.jpg

20171027_135234.jpg

The dining area serves as their lounge is so relaxing. Imagine yourself sitting on the rattan chair. Meanwhile, the outside view is so grandeur. It really made me forget that we still need to travel to Dumaguete City with a motorcycle ride.

20171027_134956.jpg
This is the view that we can see while we were staying at the porch. If I could fly, I would have flown from one mountain to the other. I was basically wearing my eyeglasses because I would not enjoy it if I won't. Haha!


Here is another video I took for you to have a full glimpse of the restaurant.

If you wish to know more about this place, you can visit their office or call DENR PENRO- Larena Drive, Taclobo, Dumaguete City (035) 421 - 0325.

Photos and videos were taken using Samsung On5. I hope you enjoy this blog entry and if you do, feel free to upvote it! If you have questions or comments, feel free to comment below. When you wish your friends to know this place, feel free to resteem! Have a great day!


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now