A Surprising Gift Hidden in a Beautiful Painting

Happy day to all my coffee loving Hivers friends, I was really looking forward to this week's initiative, which I love because it sets our imaginations soaring and pushes us to create great stories, giving us the opportunity to #SPILLTHEBEANS for our creative writing challenge @cinnccf/stb-creative-writing-prompt-21, which this week tells us the following:

You're at a garage sale and you find a painting of a beautiful woman drinking coffee. You buy it and take it home. When you go to hang it on the wall, you notice that there is something under the paper on the back. You remove the paper and find an old letter. You write down the letter you found.

Blessed day for you, if they find this letter is because I will no longer be alive, do not panic and read carefully to the end, I want to briefly share my story so you can then enjoy a gift that I deliver to you.

My name is Ivanna Salvatores, I am 20 years old, I was forced to marry a powerful man who was twice my age, whom I hardly knew, after an internal deal between families, knowing that in my possession there was a great inheritance left by my maternal grandmother, which many coveted.

It was something that my new husband's family knew and looked forward to, however, after this impromptu marriage, imposed only for economic interests, I have lived the worst days of my life.

I have been married for two years to an arrogant, narcissistic and violent man, who assures me that because I married him I am his property, he does not allow me to study or to relate to other people, I have suffered his abuse and harassment on a daily basis, while my family ignores everything he does to me.

They do not support me, I am tired of suffering, I know that things are not going to change and every day they are getting worse, I have lived a hell, I feel dead in life and I can't take it anymore, every time he forces me to give him my inheritance and to reveal where I have it hidden.

My husband is a bad-hearted, self-centered and calculating man, involved in vices and excesses, capable of taking anyone with him, just to fulfill his whims. He does not allow me to have friends and my parents only say that I must obey my husband and be a submissive woman.

But I want to be free, I can't stand it anymore, I am a dreamer and a woman full of life, who some time ago was happy and wanted to shine, until my light was extinguished by my husband, this will be the last beating I receive from his hand, even so I will not reveal the whereabouts of my inheritance, which I have hidden. My dark circles under my eyes and my thinness reflect the days of suffering that I live daily.

I wish to be free and reborn even if I have to close my eyes to this world and move away from what I do not have and will not have, happiness, the support of my family and true love, so with this letter I say goodbye.

If you are reading this letter you are fortunate, today I reveal to you the whereabouts of my inheritance, the place where it was hidden so that with it you can do good and give stability to your family if you already have one.

It was the effort and savings of my grandmother for years, many gold coins and her most valuable jewelry, a great fortune, kept in a chest. Thank you for appreciating my portrait, it was made by my grandmother Aurora before she died at 86 years old, in it I leave captured the happy and strong woman that one day I was, although my dreams have been truncated by ambition.

Today I decide to die to stop suffering and to meet again with the wonderful being who really loved me, my dear grandmother Aurora. I reveal to you the place where my inheritance is hidden through this letter hidden in my portrait, remembering that day when I enjoyed a delicious coffee with my beloved old lady.

The afternoon coffee was something that we could not miss, along with some delicious cookies that she always prepared for me, but do not feel sad for me, I will be at peace, resting in her arms where I will always be protected.

I ask you lucky woman or man, live and enjoy to the fullest, love, embrace, do not let them steal your dreams, be generous, do not forget to help and reach out to those who need it most.

Enjoy my inheritance and invest it in the best way, it is my gift from me to you for valuing and preserving my portrait, of that wonderful time when I enjoyed a cup of coffee and was really happy.

Sincerely. Ivanna Salvatores.
Italy, May 20, 1922.

I leave you a map of the place, a big hug.

And so I end my participation and take the opportunity to invite my friends @crish23, @wendyth16 and @alina97.

Quality content created by @yelimarin for Hive, as part of the creative writing initiative of the coffee community, I'm already looking forward to reading your letter.

Images are my own, taken with my Redmi 9 A phone, I used the InShop app and the translator DeepL to share the English version with you.
Use the FaceApp application to age one of my photos and represent the character of the grandmother Aurora, also the Gimp application for the photo montage in the picture, the three characters are represented by me.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
27 Comments
Ecency