In a blog post on July 9, 2018, Oleg Afonin explained how the newly discovered flaw ditched the iOS security feature. He wrote,
“What we discovered is that iOS will reset the USB Restrictive Mode countdown timer even if one connects the iPhone to an untrusted USB accessory, one that has never been paired to the iPhone before.”It means anyone could easily prevent the USB Restricted Mode from activation. All one needs to do is to connect a lightning adapter or any USB accessory to a recently unlocked device. However, this feature won’t work if the device has passed one hour from the last unlock.
As explained by Apple,
“Starting with iOS 11.4.1, if you use USB accessories with your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch, or if you connect your device to a Mac or PC, you might need to unlock your device for it to recognize and use the accessory. Your accessory then remains connected, even if your device is subsequently locked. If you don’t first unlock your password-protected iOS device—or you haven’t unlocked and connected it to a USB accessory within the past hour—your iOS device won’t communicate with the accessory or computer, and in some cases, it might not charge.”Although the description looks simple to understand, I noticed one tricky phrase while writing this article. Did you notice what Apple say?
“Your accessory then remains connected, even if your device is subsequently locked.”I wonder if the bug appeared somewhere when Apple allowed the USB accessory to stay connected after the device autolocks again. Or, perhaps Apple left the glitch deliberately. We know Apple is concerned about the data security and privacy of its customers. Apple Safari’s stoppage of browser fingerprinting is one such example. So, maybe we could see a patch coming soon from Apple (only if it truly is an iOS security vulnerability).