I Upcycled Materials Into Cultural Art Pieces.

Hello, DIY community, I welcome everyone to my blog, and today's post is all about how I made some beautiful pieces for interior designs.

As kids, we used to have some small artwork hanging on the wall at home. It was usually made from wood and looked very beautiful. The artwork represents our culture, and it's beautiful to see it on the wall.

I had this nostalgic feeling from my childhood and couldn't prevent myself from visiting some beautiful memories. Remembering this artwork inspired me to try something out with some cartons and my paper cane as usual, I hope you all love it.

Materials used are:

Carton
Glue
Paper
Glossy paint
Water color
Scissors
Paint brush

Let me take you through the procedure;

I started by drawing some shapes that would be used to represent the human body.

Lower body part


Upper body part

I did a light sketch first just in case I made a mistake, and I made the shape line thicker after the drawing just the way it should be.

I cut the shapes out of the carton and set them aside.

I needed a round shape for the human head and drew one on the carton with a cup.I cut that out and set it aside too.


After achieving the cutouts, I moved on to joining all these body parts together.

I cut out a small rectangular shape that would serve as the human neck and attached them to the bodies.


I made four paper canes to represent the human hand.

I flattened and attached them to the body with glue from the back.

All gluing must be done at the back if you want a neat result

After hands had dried properly, I folded them to have elbows.

The human head looks too ordinary, so I added some pieces of carton to make it different.

It looks like a cap for one and a hair design for the other.

I set them aside to dry.


These humans would be carrying local musical instruments, so I moved on to making those instruments.

One of the humans had a drum, and making that was quite simple.

I removed the first layer of the carton and got this 👇.

I rolled the carton and applied glue at the end to make a drum.

The second instrument looks like a guitar, is cut into a round shape, and is attached to some paper cane with gum.


I attached these instruments to the human body.

The drums is for one, and the guitar is for the other human.

I applied gum to the surface of the drum that would be sitting on the human body.

When it had dried, I applied gum to the sides of the drum and gently attached the paper cane (a human hand) to the drum.

I removed the surface of a carton I already cut to look like a rope and also glued it to the drum.It made the drum look like it's hanging from the human neck.

I repeated the process for the second human as well and placed the paper cane (hands) on the guitar. I set both humans aside to dry properly.

Finally, I moved on to the final part, which is the painting.

I tried using different colors from both the watercolor and glossy paint.


I painted their musical instruments as well.

After completing the painting, I placed them in the sun to dry properly.

Hanging them on the wall looks too ordinary, so I decided to give them a backless frame, and it added a lot of beauty to these pieces of art.


Music is among the things that distinguishes our culture, and it's also what unites the world. I really enjoyed coming up with this piece of art as an entry to the DIY Culture Contest.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now