On-the-job Training

“You’ll get the hang of it kid.”

“I better. And soon, I can’t afford to lose this job. Could you do this one? I’m really nervous after last time.”

“Look, we all start out like you. I’m just here to observe. You know I can’t operate the device, it was calibrated for you before we left the base.

“Yeah, yeah. Okay, okay. And I do appreciate the squadron commander giving me another shot at this. I set the device way too low the first time and over compensated and went too high the next. Burnt the damn thing to a crisp.”

“It takes some subtlety but the device’s settings do allow for a range of acceptable outcomes. It helps if you try to clear your mind a bit and then really focus on the task at hand when the device is engaged. Strong enough to kill off the life forms but not so strong that the crust suffers heavy damage. We still need to be able to turn this place over to Rehab.”

“Right. Coming out of hyperdrive in three, two, one, mark. There it is, that blue one. Earth? That’s an odd name for a planet.”

“Think about that later. Like I said, clear your mind first, then focus. I want to get home in time for dinner. That’s not going to happen if I have to submit another Failed Mission report for the squadron commander.”

“I won’t let you down sir.”

This was written for @mariannewest’s challenge:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-564-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-earth

Okay, so I took 10 minutes for the first draft. I type even slower on a phone than I do on a regular keyboard. 😂

Pixabay image

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center