Interview with the Vampire and The Vampire Lestat

Hi Steemians, I hope you are all doing great!

This time I’ll be writing a review and my point of view from two of Anne Rice’s books Interview with the Vampire, the first book from Vampire chronicles and The Vampire Lestat, the second one.

Last time, I talked about the author from this saga, Anne Rice; who I really admire since she has an awesome ability to write and all I’ve read from her has completely got me enchanted and I would like to get people interest in her books. I decided to write about these two books not only because they are the firsts from the saga but also because the content of these two is a little similar. They are all connected but you don’t really need to read them all to get the next one, of course they keep a line but they are made to make you understand everything as much as possible if you didn’t read them.

Even though, I decided to read them all in order since I am really into them, and I consider that are the first and second book the ones that makes you want to read them all and discover the secrets they have, since in every book we don’t just get into a new adventure and context but discover new things from this awesome world Rice created.

In this order, let’s talk about Interview with the Vampire, this book is made from Louis point of view, a vampire who decided to tell his life story to a journalist so he could share it with the world. The question here is, what was Louis expecting? Make the world believe in Vampires or just take a weight out of his shoulders?

Interview_with_the_Vampire_cover_(4).jpg
Source

This way, Louis talk about his mortal life, the point when he turned into a vampire, his life as one of those creatures and also about Lestat, the vampire who created him and as he saw him, an unstoppable vampire who knows no limits and believes in nothing but his own power. He tells how he felt and how he saw everything, how much he suffered and how much he enjoy during that time.

This book doesn’t just take Louis as its principal character, but also Lestat and Claudia, the vampire child, since is a life story center in all what happened to them during their journey together. Daniel, the journalist doesn’t play a real important role, he just makes presence into the story when Louis make pauses and Daniel takes the chance to ask anything he considers important.

The story of our vampires start in New Orleans, with Louis life, and as it advances some of our characters move to different places. In France they meet another vampire called Armand who is way older than the newborn Louis and his “father” Lestat. A lot of things happen before they leave New Orleans, and there are a lot of unexpected situations that will get you surprised not just during their time there but when they move too, and are all those situations and the thinking of Louis, who even though is no longer a human, keeps his humanity and desires no power, what makes him tell his story.

Furthermore, even though The Vampire Lestat, covers a lot of this story but from Lestats point of view, it has a lot more to show not just from Lestats human life but everything he went through as a Vampire, how difficult and traumatic it was but also how incredible and the much he enjoyed. Lestat knew secrets from the vampires that just a few knew, and did things any of them would have ever done, as the unstoppable creature he was.

The_Vampire_Lestat_book_cover.jpg
Spurce

This book doesn’t just talk about his past as human and as vampire but also about his present, how he decided to take Louis intent of showing off what they were to a new level, deciding to make that circus the biggest he could, because everything he makes, has to be as impressive as him. Let’s have on mind that this book is Lestat autobiography, it is made as if he, himself, wrote it and his ego is as big as possible but also fascinating as possible.

The characters are complex and are created to make you feel everything they say and feel, they take you into their world live a little through them. I told in my past post that Interview with the Vampire, has a movie version, that I completely recommend, it is really similar to the book, actually I casually saw the movie once and then realized that it was a book and I was so fascinated by the movie that decided to read the book and felt in love with the story.

I really hope you feel a little interest in the stories and give them a chance, they are worth it, I swear. I didn’t want to tell too much since I don’t want to give any spoiler, so I hope it is enough. Also I hope I didn’t get you all bored, I wrote more than what I expected but couldn’t help. I really love the story.

Read us soon, hugs.

vineta 3.png

Spanish version/Version en español: Link.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now