Why I Use The Oxford Comma (and you should too)


Often debated, I see the Oxford comma as an essence of what language should be. This may sound ridiculous but hear me out. The most common debate in favor of the Oxford comma is in regards to clarity of the sentence; exaggerated examples are given but beyond a few examples, the use or lack thereof doesn't have any significant impact on the readers' comprehension.

This lack of necessity, however, is where the beauty can be found. I use the Oxford comma not because I feel my readers will be unable to understand me without it, but rather because we must maintain diversity and accuracy in language. The further along we progress, the stronger I feel that our society is the precursor to some twisted Orwellian dystopia.

Language is a beautiful thing, resilient yet delicate, it must be treated with care. Should it be abused the power it has is wasted. When used properly, however, it can be one of the most powerful things on earth.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center