Where can I get to by land?

map-2153535__340.jpg


On the above map, I am on the right side.


Currently in Poland. 40 minutes or there about - and I can get to the Ukraine or Belarus. 8 hours and I am in Germany. If I drive long enough I could end up in either Korea, north/south!. It would be quicker though to drive to Saudi Arabia.

Would you like to view the map of this land mass? If so click here.


For the extremely brave, you can drive all the way to the end of Russia and then hop over by boat via the Bering Strait, which is about 55 miles to Alaska, then you are onto the next land mass in the Americas/Canada/Brazil etc.

Is there another piece of land so ethnically diverse? Before you say the UK we will discount it from the equation!

If we start from Spain on the far left and work our way across to the right and Russia, we encounter the majority of people being white and mainly christian. As we start to go down the map we pass through Romania into Turkey and then we see a changing skin colour and a swing into the Moslem faith. That chunk of land mass contains many African countries too among them Cameroon, Kenya, Zimbabwe, South Africa etc.

If we take a different route we can get all the way to Thailand, Vietnam, Malaysia & we can even drive to Singapore!
Of course over this direction we have a change in faiths to Buddhism and other religions.


Largest country by land mass here? Russia.


I am not 100% sure, though it looks to me like you could possibly take all the above countries, and all the others on this land mass, and fit them into Russia, such is the vast size of the place!.


So many parts of this land are at war like Syria, Yemen, Afghanistan, Libya, Saudi Arabia, Russia, Iraq, Iran etc also.

If we wanted to drive over to the African part on the bottom left, we would have to drive through a country at war. Either Syria, Iraq or Iran. Then drive through Israel, entering Egypt and the African continent after.
With a lot of countries in that block being close to civil disorder or unrest, I would rather choose to drive towards the Asia side and Thailand.

When I say countries at war, they may simply be involved in proxy wars like Iran - Yemen/Syria, or Russia - Syria.

That is as much time as I have right now to type, so I will catch you later today, although I would like to say - Where in the world are you?


@shepz1 wishes you a superb week ahead.


Image pixabay.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now