Updates for 2022 ๐Ÿ˜Ž What's coming in 2023?

(general updates about me on HIVE and things I am changing around my efforts on this community)

Upcoming ๐Ÿ’ฃ Hardware ๐Ÿคฏ Evolution

image.png
(source)

On this pre-2022 post, I have announced my coming back to HIVE as a witness, being already evolving into the HIVE-Engine world for some time where I have re-learned lots of new information, skills, and reasons to start my deeper involvement into this community.

image.png
(source - by @primersion)

Back when I was "thinking" about ATX token (un-launched) I had the requirement (in my mind) of whatever my future involvement on HIVE would be, it would need to include something for the chain, a sort of quantified and verified give back. Not many (especially new) users might have the full scope of what that means, but either way, that was my premise and first long term objective.

๐Ÿ’ปCPU's, ๐Ÿ’พMemory, and ๐Ÿ“€Buses for Blockchains

Back in 2019, AMD did really get a big advantage over Intel in the IO and Bus performance arena. The increase of CPU PCIe lanes did change the game a lot, among other things (such as SMP cores and others). Back then I had no doubts my next investment would be going into AMD CPUs (previously things were on the Intel side). But then, later in the game, around 2021, another problem started to emerge much harder to solve, memory!

Just to better explain, a CPU with 16 cores (32 SMP) and maxed out in memory can have around 128GB of RAM. And this might take care of a couple VMs, but it's still too many cores for the amount of RAM. So, there is some imbalance that causes you to either jump into a more expensive CPU or shift back to Intel with some loss of performance per/$.

This is why I have opted to wait a bit more (I was planning on buying a more core count CPU + Memory to support my HIVE nodes). Instead of spending time and money now when the market is down, and when we have shortages of ASICs, I have thought about it and decided to wait for the next generation of AMD CPUs that will support at least 256GB.

These will come with a new AM5 socket (hence lots of cheap stuff will emerge on the AM4 socket), new shrink (7nm), and likely more core frequency, plus possibly PCIe 5.0 (maybe only in 2023), 3X L3 caches (even if with some extra latency, depending on the situation) and DDR5.

In the HPC world, I can already see these as being very interesting and hence my change of strategy in order to deliver the fastest Oceania/middle-Asia/East-Asia HIVE Full Node. It sucks to not yet have latency times like the ones Starlink (from SpaceX) are promising at an affordable price (otherwise that would be my aim).

On top of all this, there is some upcoming NVMe stuff that will take advantage of PCIe 5.0 lanes. Hence things will double soon... and I want to be prepared for them, not buying them straight away (they are going to be very expensive).

DDR5 is also going to be very promising due to the fact of bus segregation from 64-bit to 2x 32-bit channels and the consequent memory DIMM increase. For HIVE nodes, this will be very important because most of the cost is associated with the need for fast memory to host the shared_memory.bin file. I am still exploring this area as it might be the most important one for me...

Other features will also make life easier in the virtualization world. So, yes, plan for virtualized stuff for sure, in order to reduce costs.

Firewall ๐Ÿงฑ and ISP redudant ๐Ÿ”ฆ links

Recently, one of my major time spending is on exploring alternatives to run things from home in a secure way. Therefore, I have been exploring appliances of firewalls that I can support with non-conventional devices (that cost thousands of dollars). If you have skills and know-how to plan Infrastructure, then running software that costs heaps on conventual hardware (PCs/Servers) is a big save. Something like from several thousand to a couple of hundreds of things. And they do the same thing if not more...

image.png

All you need is guts and time to explore these unusual non "conventional" enterprise solutions. And yep, they cost you more time to maintain but save you tons if you are starting something new without much financial support.

Dual redundant links will be my last effort in this game (currently HIVE "core-services" do not need a lot of bandwidth, its mostly latency performance). If by then Starlink is affordable, that will be an option, otherwise, dual provider and links will be the path. Currently, I only have one provider for above 1Gbps... but soon that will change. Fortunately, in NZ that's not a problem. ๐Ÿ˜Ž

Supporting HIVE in a different way ๐Ÿ™„

Lately, as a user and also as a witness, I have been focusing and exercising how hard it is to rank up on the voting system in HIVE. From talking, teaching, promoting voting, etc... it's an exhausting path with very little reward.

Either way, I have been through a couple of weeks trying it and learning from the experience. And my general conclusion about voting for witnesses with non-experienced users is that this will be very hard to cement short term, always! So, let's see what kind of battle I can help with... in this regards.

It's important for everyone to recall that a chain with this capacity has to diversify and adapt. There are lots of power users like @blocktrades and amazing product minds like @therealwolf visions or @peakd and @ecency restless teams. But the key aspect is diversity and decentralization. A bit from everyone is a HUGE bucket of value.

A tester ๐Ÿ˜ by nature

Due to my work affiliation, I am constantly in the troubleshooter pit (generalistic one) and HPC Engineer zone (mostly general performance and IO/filesystems focused). This provides me with great reach within businesses that need to explore and find answers to IT Infrastructure or scalable solutions (usually).

By design, I am an explorer and love to help on improving stuff. Whatever that is... but games... lately! Damn... they are just my world. And the more they come to HIVE, the more I feel this is my path.

๐Ÿค” Delivered?

Not sure, but I have tried my stuff out. From the two bottom "HUGE" posts about the 2020 and 2021 games on HIVE, I am still reluctant about producing a version for 2022 if this expansion continues. It's just crazy work, and with so many people posting about games, I just don't want to be repeating stuff!

image.png

Either way, I have been involved in as many games I can on HIVE. My purpose? Help and be helped by... The main objective is to promote and teach if needed, the second objective is to have fun. The third objective is to profit a bit in order to expand my capabilities of advising each party about potential problems I see in that regard (yes, I like my share but if it's too unfair, I will just prefer to report it and get it fixed because I know it will be worse if I don't).

In a general sense, the aim is to help game businesses flourish on HIVE (but not limited to games).

Helping new ๐ŸŸ users...

I will keep finding ways to help new users as much as I can... being that via the @atexoras.pub or the @atexoras token. My must-have is above those options. ANYONE seeking genuine help through me will have 100% (from the time I can provide) dedication from me... mostly for free.

If there is something I can offer, distinguished from others in terms of value, is that "I don't care about how much you are paying me" for now. Hence most of my help is usually free. I am here because I want not because I need.

If tomorrow, 100% of my value would vanish and my focus would still remain on saving the community... I just can't find any bigger value than for that one. - unfortunately I didn't know what I know today when the idiot you all know attacked ex'ed HIVE.

The next step?

I don't know... unfortunately life is way more complex than I thought.

All I can do or say is broadcasting my own thoughts... even if they are what they are. I am just a person after all and there are Billions of us around the world.

I want to think about this experiment as THE one I have been most dedicated to, but if my life taught me something is that things change. So no, this is not goodbye... more like, I told you so that evolution was coming.

My effort will keep into supporting new businesses coming to HIVE and providing support to collateral prejudice when I can.

Crap apart, HIVE is going to stay for a very long time if you wanna listen to any of this old man's words. I am here for a reason... Not because of necessary value, but instead due to wanting to be part of how evolution goes in terms of blockchain technology!

That's my stance... what's yours?


VOTE FOR WITNESSES

They do... (in my view)

  • Protect your assets, by defending security in this chain
  • Develop tools that you like @ecency or @peakd, etc
  • Fight for true decentralization with options that are world viable (a blockchain only works forever if decentralized)
  • Teaching and documentation
  • Core-principles defending and prioritization side-kicks (chains)
  • It's VERY hard to maintain Public infrastructure (still many top 20 do provide amazing performance nodes)
  • Discuss the origin of Life (in blockchain way) and how to evolve privacy or identity
  • Unhiding value of communities, catapulted into the next evolution of social media

๐Ÿ–๏ธHIVE5's!

Have fun, good luck on all the gaming, learning, and when/if you are up to, teaching new things to newcomers, showing them how interesting is this place.

๐Ÿค Twitter - @forkyishere ๐Ÿ˜ˆ (@forykw dark side)

For #news about the #HIVE blockchain, and other stuff. I am following all users!

In addition, if you are looking for a nice place to either reach out, share or just have a great time, come along to @atexoras.pub gatherings. We welcome everyone on the blockchain.

๐Ÿ‘‰ Vote for Witnesses

Hive-Engine here (voting uses staked WORKERBEE)
HIVE here (voting uses staked HIVE)

@forykw is running ๐Ÿ˜Ž @atexoras.witness ๐Ÿ‘ˆ Quick Vote


๐Ÿ Hive Blockchain Games ๐ŸŽฎ

YearTitlePost link (๐Ÿ‘†4+โ„น๏ธnfo)
2021The ecosystem is expanding!
(credit @solymi)
2020The power of having fun!
(credit @doze)

๐Ÿ’ณ Cryptocurrency Cards

Crypto.com ๐Ÿ˜Ž๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ’žCrypterium (forgot)TenX (retired)Revolut (wen?)Wirex (fuckdup)

by

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
19 Comments
Ecency