Ausbitbank Witness Update 29/6/17

Another intense week - massive user growth and thousands of users experiencing their first tastes of power thanks to the hardfork.

I've been curating a lot , supporting users across a few different community building efforts , refining automated voting systems for @centerlink and @ausbitbot and finally got some more focussed time developing the steemviz beta.

I now have 612 witness votes and I'm at rank # 29

Witness node operations


Last week I updated my main witness node to the latest version of Steem and we successfully upgraded the steem network to Hardfork v.0.19.0 'Equality' .

After having a pretty good run so far with my witness node so far and only 10 blocks missed over my entire campaign - I failed bad this week.

My steemd node crashed, and my kill-switch script wasn't running so my key never got disabled.. And I hadn't switched my notification system over to my new phone yet, so this went unnoticed for way too long.

I've now setup a redundant copy of the kill-switch script so if this happens again my node will be disabled reliably, and my notification system has been updated.

Even though I've almost doubled in total witness votes since my last update, the missed blocks and slow response time cost me @abit 's vote and I dropped from rank # 27 to # 29 immediately :(

  • 28 missed blocks this week (38 ever) .
  • I'm now witnessing an average of 49 blocks each day .

steem.png

Price feed and current network parameters

  • I publish an unbiased price feed - last update was $1.871 SBD / STEEM
  • SBD interest rate remains steady at 0% - to discourage hoarding whilst SBD is overvalued
  • Account creation fee remains at 0.2 STEEM - attempting to reduce signup cost (info)
  • Maximum block size remains at 131,072 - to lower the SP requirements to transact (more info).

sbd.png

Steem Dollars still trading above $1

Steem Dollars continue to be in high demand, currently priced at $2.16 USD per SBD .

I'd still really like us to attempt timcliff's proposed solution to restore the $1 SBD peg (TLDR: Reverse Conversion) .

Steemians should be taking advantage of these higher prices and sell SBD above face value while you can.

Do not use the internal convert option in your wallet for SBD's at this time - you will get a better deal on exchanges.

You should also avoid doing 100% Steem Power posts at this time, you will make more money if you use the 50/50 option and then trade the SBD you get for Steem.


Hardfork 19 complete - Hardfork 20 soon (TM)

I'm still trying to take in the full picture of what linear rewards has done to the Steem economy - but the initial minnow euphoria seems to be quickly being replaced with frustration at continued rampant abuse by large stakeholders.

I have a few ideas on using social pressure on the worst self-voters through a new account called @shame - I'll share more on that in a future post.

Almost as soon as HF19 'equality' went live, @steemitblog was already proposing HF20 'velocity' .

The main bullet points of the HF20 proposal are :

  • Improving the registration process through a variety of methods so we can scale up to millions of users
  • Implementing discounted account creation through both Steem burning and scrypt mining
  • Adding a dynamically adjusted daily quota for discounted account creation
  • Giving accounts a permanent minimum bandwidth instead of requiring SP
  • Removing the ability to create accounts via SP delegation
  • Removing the vote dust threshold

Just like the last hardfork, this is too many changes at once IMHO .


TeamAustralia is sponsored by @centerlink

Team Australia and @centerlink have been growing quick, with @centerlink now supporting 171 Steemians and voting on around 200 posts a day.

A big thankyou goes to these recent donators to the cause :
@ancientmystique , @scooter77 , @gohba.handcrafts , @cryptohustlin , @the-fillosopher , @bulleth , @dirtfoot , @shellyduncan , @choogirl , @brendio , @richq11 , @ryivhnn , @timsaid

@centerlink now has a few operators regularly posting content in order raise funding and SP , and it's also seeing the beginnings of some nice curation rewards :

It's now 2 weeks old, and has 700 SP of its own, as well as the original 2000 SP I delegated to it , and its full strength vote gives about $1.50 . It also has about $600 in pending post rewards to be powered up within a few days.

Hopefully it'll keep snowballing and be able to provide a decent minimum income for quality posts from #teamaustralia members in no time :)


LivingRoomOfSatoshi adds Steem support !

It's been about a month since we asked @roomofsatoshi to add steem support , and after a great response from the community I'm happy to announce that Steem to AUD bank or BPAY payments are now available!

Myself, and a few fellow Aussies have tested the service out now with no problems to report - just a quick and easy way to turn Steem into Aussie Dollars in your bank account.


Post rewards this week will be split between @centerlink , @minnowsupport , @ausbitbot and @shame





twitter / gab.ai / keybase / steemit.chat / patreon
steemviz / steemvids / more tools / post index
Please vote for me as a witness here

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center