Skiing at Lake Louise

Lake Louise Ski Resort near Banff, Alberta offers breathtaking views of the Canadian Rockies. It is located within Banff National Park, which is a large wilderness area west of Calgary, Alberta. Elevation at the resort ranges from 1650m at the base to 2640m at the summit for a vertical drop of just under 1000m. The resort does not have an extensive village area at its base, but there are several hotels nearby with regular shuttles. Personally, I like to walk from my accommodation to the skiing, but others prefer the lack of extensive commercial development.

In this post, I share several photos taken on a recent trip to Lake Louise. Some of these shots were taken with a GoPro Hero3+ mounted on a helmet. The GoPro takes excellent photos. I like the fish-eye effect of the wide-angle lens in the mountain environment.


This is the Ptarmigan Quad Chair. Considering the GoPro was snapping a random photo every 10 seconds, I think these are amazing shots -- framed perfectly.

LL1.jpg

LL2.jpg


Paradise Bowl is a wide open bowl area. If you like skiing moguls, this truly is paradise.

LL50.jpg


I believe this peak is the highest elevation at the resort. It is accessible via the Summit Platter which is a fairly extreme ride on a windy day. We are headed in that direction here.

LL98a.jpg


It was cold and windy at the summit! My hand almost fell off taking this selfie. My iPhone died from the cold moments after taking this shot.

LL99e.jpg


By Lake Louise standards, this was not a big year for snow. Nevertheless, the avalanche hazard was real. Nice mountains in the background, BTW.

LL98c.jpg


And finally, here is one of the few shots you will ever see of me on Steemit ( ... I am nocturnal and shy like the red panda).

LL99m.jpg


Enjoy

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now