At war

I woke suddenly, a deep rumbling shaking the house, My nightmare and the rumbling had been simultaneous. I stood up from the bed. I had dozed off the night before, my dinner lay on the table as i frantically walked across the room to the window; I could feel the floor vibrating. I looked out and saw the armored tank causing the rumbles. It was the third one coming into town this week. The first had been stationed in a minister's mansion, the second was right in the middle of the high class community, who knows where this will be positioned.

The war had taken a lot from us. And tanks that should be at the war front protecting us are now being used as personal security for the rich.

You could see the hunger and wretchednes the war brought on the street. The old lady going around with are son's severed leg waved at me. I smiled and told her to wait for me. That's her sign of telling me she was hungry. Her son's leg is strapped to her body. It's smelling now and she still wouldn't let go of it.

Her son had been amongst the last set of men that were moved to the war front. And everyday she would wait close to the border for his return. Until she saw the transport of the fallen soldiers, mostly blown body pieces that were all meant to be buried together. You could hardly recognise anyone. And it was then she saw the leg with the brown boot amongst other dead bodies part. It belonged to her husband. She had made him wore it instead of his soldier boot. She stood infront of truck until they had to stop. She ran to the back and tried to yank out her son's dead body. But, the only thing left of her son was his right leg. She watched the burnt part in horror, It had smell like barbecue. She fell to the ground and held on to it tightly, her facial expression blank....

The soldiers tried recover the body part from her but she went ballistic on them and they had to leave her. She had strung the leg around her neck. She sits on the street and talked to it. She would water it and tell people are son was going to grow back.

But she smiles at me and only accept food from me. And she tells me "soon dear." I translate that as we were all gonna die soon. I handed her the food and smile. She smiled back and said "soon dear." I nodded in agreeement.

The rumbling finally stopped. I looked towards the direction of the tank and it waa right infront of the billionaire Naashir's house. His wealth was very great and was derived chiefly from the war. He had been a millionaire from his business around the country before the war but now his wealth came in folds, He was one of the suppliers for the guns and tanks needed in this war.I guess he doesn't plan on dying soon.

"Watch out!"

The soldier on the horse screamed, as it almost toppled me over.

The horse whinnied at the abrupt stop.

"Dumb bitch, You should watch the road or go die in your room," he said as he furiously raced on.

Something must be wrong at the border. I could see the fear in his eyes.

I went upstairs to my room and made myself a meal. When I finish eating, I will sit and read a book at the same time awaiting my death as I have always done since the war started.

image

Picture source: pixabay

It's the weekend freewrites!!! Here three prompts are strung into a story.( I made the three prompts bold in my story).

Wanna join the freewriters ? Visit the @freewritehouse and @mariannewest blog to scoop from the fun.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now