Site Updates

As mentioned in my Actifit post the other day, I have been developing my website more.

I thought I'd take a little time to explain what the site is about and why I'm doing what I'm doing.

What is the site

The site is a method of tracking body measurements using a variety of methods. Most sites track weight and BMI but as I've mentioned in so many of my posts, these measurements are known to be poor indicators of health.

My goal is to create a MyFitnessPal type site but that records body measurements other than weight and BMI. As I mentioned in my post Break the Scale Habit: Embrace Body Measurements for True Health Progress (blame Wordpress for that atrocious title), we need to stop using weight based metrics for measuring our health progress.

How far along is development

I've got the backbone all done. You can record your date of birth, height, and a bunch of body measurements. I do need to add one measurement which should fit in with most systems and that is "Thigh" size.

I've got the login page and associated user account creation and password reset pages up and running.

The login page works and is able to add users and pull the correct information from the database. That is except for one field. I cannot for the life of me work out what is going on, so I need to do more research on that. I can get the correct information from one user in the database but I cannot get it for others. However, it pulls all the correct information from the other fields for those users, so I have no idea what's going on.

What is to do

The clothing list that you see will also be moved to a table that will eventually tie solely to you, as who wants a massive list of clothes you don't have, to find the ones you do?

A food nutrition database will be added at some stage as will the ability to add that to your calorie counting regime (not that I support that Junk Food does not exist).

I also need to do much work on the design. It's too busy at the moment and it's also not responsive at the moment so it doesn't work well on mobile devices yet.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now