Video of my new bag - vertical but not short

Video Of My New Bag

VERTICAL BUT NOT SHORT



Since being back in London, I've gotten back to creating product review videos. I've since switched up the format now as a response to how people are consuming content these days. Looking at my analytics, I can see that most people watch my videos on their smartphones. In response to that, I've switched to crating these videos in the dreaded vertical video format. I hate that format for video, but I have since realised that these videos are not for me, but for the consumer, so I now give them what they want.

Also platforms like Amazon are now prioritising vertical videos too. They even request them in correspondence. Of course there's also Instagram and TikTok which are vertical natively, even if they're also starting to dabble with horizontal (traditional) format.

The one thing I'm doing differently, however, is not limiting the length to 1 minute. That is, I create the same 3-5 minute videos, but in vertical format. I realise that YouTube catalogues them as "normal" videos, not shorts, but present them in the feed like shorts. It's sort of a compromise. I use a horizontal thumbnail so it still looks good on my profile page, but YouTube doesn't show the thumbnail in the feed, rather a freeze frame from the video. I don't like that much, but I'm sure YouTube is working to clean that up like thy did to the way shorts show up on the profile page. It's all a work in progress.

This particular video is of my new backpack I received for free from the brand in exchange for a review video. Conveniently enough, I needed a new bag anyway because the zippers on my old one have started falling apart.

Peace & Love,

Adé

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now