September is the month of the Arepa in Venezuela: This is how I celebrated it! 😋

Venezuelans are characterized by being very cheerful people and in their daily lives cannot miss the celebration. One of the dishes that is always present at the table of all families is the arepa.

its name derives from the language of the Cumanagotos, that at the moment live in Cumaná, state Anzoategui. The word "Arepa" comes from "Erepe" which means "Maize", which is the main ingredient for its preparation.

This typical Venezuelan food is very versatile. Families usually eat arepa at breakfast, lunch and dinner as a main or accompanying meal. There are a variety of combinations for your filling and my favorite is the "Pelúa", based on shredded beef and cheese.

IMG-20170911-WA0012.jpg

The "Arepa day" is celebrated every 9th of September. In the city where I live, the "First Rotary Arepazo", organized by the Rotary Club Foundation, was held. All funds raised were used to finance their social work.

I arrived at nine in the morning for breakfast. The people of Rotary are very friendly. I told them I was there to do a post in Steemit and they were very excited. They offered me an arepa and I obviously could not refuse it😜

page1.jpg

I took photos of the arming process of the arepa. Mrs. Soly, old me that she is a doctor by profession but has recently been involved in the world of cooking. She is dedicated to travel all over the country, investigating the gastronomic culture and devising original recipes that seek to merge the typical Venezuelan food with a gourmet style. She has had the privilege of cooking with renowned chef of the country as Sumito Estévez.

In her instagram account, publishes easy and quick recipes for those who have a rhythm of life in which to cook elaborate dishes is not an option or those who want to eat something delicious with few ingredients. You can follow her on Instagram. She cooked me a delicious ham and cheese arepa.

page.jpg

She introduced me to this entrepreneur, who after 28 years working as an engineer, decided to leave his position at a major company in the region to inaugurate a promising café whose name is "Apamate Café". This café is already present in Instagram, where he posts daily the delights his team is preparing for his clients.

He told me that in his culinary proposal includes a croissant stuffed with dulce de lechoza, typical Venezuelan dessert. 😜

IMG-20170911-WA0016.jpg

I sat down to eat my arepa which was super delicious.

IMG-20170911-WA0009.jpg

But I felt I was missing something ...

IMG-20170911-WA0013.jpg

The perfect companion of this dish: A malt! After buying it, I sat down to eat quietly... 😂

Soon, other events related to this iconic Venezuelan food will be made. My plan is to attend and tell you my experience. For those living in Venezuela, please go and support all the people who still bet on this beautiful country. There are events in which we can feel how great and wonderful it is Venezuela ❤️

Follow @ladaural

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center