Ulog No. 4: "Oh No! What Happened to my JPEG Photos/Files?!"

I thought saving all my photos on my external hard drive and USB will make my photos safe and secure. I was dead wrong. As I was going through some of my saved photos, I found out that some of them are corrupted. Either their colours have been changed, or parts of the photo are blacked out. The thumbnail photos show perfect pictures but then on the preview pane, you can see the defects on the files.

Of course, I googled "How to repair JPEG files" and "repair JPEG files free software". I looked at different websites but I was wary to download the programs as they might contain some spyware or virus. The only thing that "looked" credible to me was Stellar Data Recovery. So, I downloaded the demo version of the software and tried it with a couple of photos.

DISCLAIMER: This post is in no way sponsored or administered by the software mentioned above.


Here's how they came out:



However, when I tried repairing the following photos, they all just came blank. I could not see the preview as well with the Stellar watermark. Just blank.


There are heaps more photos that are corrupted, and I can't seem to find any solution to my problem. It's really frustrating, because those photos are very important to me. They are my recorded memories of the most precious moments in my life, and I don't want to lose all of them. Through those photos, I am able to relive and reminisce the important events, though they are embedded in my memory, but still, as the popular Chinese proverb says,

One picture is worth ten thousand words.

But I don't want to spend almost AUD$60 to purchase a software program when I couldn't get the guarantee that all of my corrupted photos will be restored. However, if I have already explored and exhausted all possible avenues to solve my problem, and it will just lead me to buying this product, then clearly I have no choice.

If you have any idea with regard to programs that are free to download which will give me the desired outcome or any possible solution that I may not have tried yet, please lend a helping hand by commenting below. Thank you very much and thank you for reading!

Steemit_Greeters_Guild (1).png

So, I've been told by my sister @dynamicshine, I'm definitely a certified #ulogger now for my @ulogs posts (thanks to @surpassinggoogle for this great initiative).

Ulog No. 1: Lamb Yiros/Gyros for Lunch
Ulog No. 2: Acknowleding the Positive and Negative in Life
Ulog No. 3: Mastery of Skill in Baking Pan De Sal Requires More Practice

Check out other #ulog posts by: @dynamicshine, @ryl, @rabiujaga, @baa.steemit, @dynamicgreentk

Some people that I follow: @puregrace, @scarletmedia, @shagungupta, @shanu, @pkalra, @bunnychum, @honeychum, @ntowl, @mhm-philippines, @eaglespirit, @joanna-godfrey, @norma-jean, @quochuy, @yati

Steemit_Greeters_Guild (1).png

Click each banner to join the Discord servers!!!

evlachsblog5.gif

rsz_steembulls.jpg

rsz_sgg_footers6.png

FlamingHelpers-7 (1).jpg

itestify.jpeg
Vote @cloh76.witness, @steemgigs, @pharesim, @hr1, @quochuy, @reggaemuffin, @mahdiyari, @yabapmatt, @blocktrades, @utopian-io, @furion, @themarkymark, @qurator and @ausbitbank for witnesses!


All photos are mine, except for the sourced Pixabay image and Discord banners (credits to @baa.steemit, @steembulls, and @terminallyill for DynamicSteemians, Steembulls, and GreetersGuild).

Thank you @stevenmosoes and @seyiodus for @flaminghelpers and @itestify banners.

rsz_1upvote_button.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center