Delivering for UberEats and my experience

My first day experience with UberEats!

After losing my job a the beginning of the year, and countless number of job apps and resumes filled out with no real results. I finally looked into UberEats Delivery. The signup process wasn't to painful. They needed photos of certain things like proof of insurance, your vehicle registration. It took probably about 24 hours in total to get fully approved. I picked up some insulated backs from my local Sam's Club, for about $6 a piece.

It was at this point that I had no idea what to expect next. I did not know any one that has done delivery's for UberEats or any other of delivery services of this type. This is to share with you my first day experience and what I did to get through my first shift.

The town that I live in isn't really small, but UberEats is still really new to this area. My first day was on a Sunday, so I didn't know to expect. I went to the border of my town and another "richer" area, where UberEats had already been established for months, hoping that would set me up for good day. Within 2-3 minutes of going online with the app, I got my first order, McDonalds, lol.

Once arriving, the pick up was pretty easy. Walking, let the counter know that you are there to pick up an Uber order for (the persons name). Or in my case, the lady said you're hear for the Uber order? I was like how'd you know? She like, phone out in hand looking down at it, and back at us was a pretty good clue, and she smiled. So even tho this was my first time, it obviously was not theirs.

After getting the order, the app directed me where to go, which was about 4 miles away. Which is pretty good since UberEats pays something like $1.10 / mile on for delivery. And I was met with the a big challenge on my first order, gated community, and the there were no notes on the order for how to get in. And then the phone number on file for the customer was at an old business where she use to work. So I had no way to contact her. Lucky for me, within a few minutes another person drove up, and open the gate, giving me access. (Some times you have to be patient, or even creative on getting into gated communities.

The delivery after the gate went great, knocked on the door, asked if she was (her name) and gave her, her order. She was like I'm sorry I don't have any cash on me, I will tip you through the app. Which I wasn't expecting. I had been reading online to not expect any kind of tips as people just don't do it. So this made me happy, it was the first money I had made in 3 months, and I was hopeful for the rest of the day.

I went on to deliver 16 more orders that day, working for just over 6 hours. I made $124.72, thru the app, and $23.00 in cash tips. Which for the day set me at $24.62/hour. Way more than my last job paid me. I did have to hustle, and I did end up in another bigger county halfway into that shift. But the orders were back to back, and not to far apart. I ended up burning half a tank of gas. All in all it was a great day.

From what I have seen, there are really good delivery trends. You can work Monday - Sunday and any day you can make money. However, there are some down points, like Monday's. Some of the better restaurants are closed on Monday, where customers tend to order more, and tip more, or order from far away. Tuesday and Wednesdays are a little busier then Monday's but not by much. The bread and butter for this work comes, on the weekends, and Sunday seems to be the best day over all from what I have seen so far. If you decide to try UberEats, you will need to see where your cities trends are, and work around the best of them.

Here's a perk, Use my Invite code when signing up, and after your first 10 deliveries, you will get a $150 bonus. This means in your first day, if you did like did, and I had this bonus, I would have made $275 on the first day. That is a nice bit of money.

https://partners.uber.com
My UberEats Invite code: jamesr54706ui

Another good feature is that UberEats direct deposits weekly, but if you're hurting for cash like I was, they have an option to deposit cash on the fly, to your bank account via your debt/check card, for a small fee of $0.50 per transaction. So at the end of the day, you can pull your current earning and they will be available to you immediately. Not next day, not 2 days later.. withing 10 seconds of you completing the transaction on the Uber app.

I hope that you found this piece informative. I will continue to post my experiences with UberEats to help any one out that is not sure, and wants to see how the life of an UberEats delivery driver is before committing to it themselves.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center