Journey to THE PLANT

The Plant is a collaborative community of food businesses committed to material reuse and closed-loop systems. The building is a 93,500 sq ft former meatpacking plant, which currently houses over a dozen small businesses, all focused on growing, producing, and sourcing a variety of food products.

IMG_7795.JPG

@echo-bat called me up with the idea to visit The Plant because they were having a farmers market event inside. We each bought ourselves a little fresh juice from one of the vendors, even though I had just drank about 40oz of fresh carrot and celery juice at home before I picked her up.

We decided to take a tour of The Plant. They have an aquaponics system in the basement. They asked the group, "Does anyone know what aquaponics is?"
"It's when you grow plants in water," I said.
"That's hydroponics," she said.

IMG_7797.JPG

Aquaponics is when they use fish shit to feed the plants, and the plant food to feed the fish. There is brewery in The Plant, and all the barley waste gets turned into fish food. The brewery is the business in the plant that creates the most waste, compared to the coffee roaster, the bakery, the cheese maker, ect.

IMG_7789.JPG

When Armageddon ensues, The Plant will be ready. It's basically a well-funded, nerdy hippie commune. I asked the tour guide who I should email to give information to about ORMUS and Effective Microorganisms. She had never heard of either of these, which would aid in every part of their bio-dynamic process.

IMG_7788.JPG

I should probably write that email to her now. Thanks for stopping by my steemit blog. I appreciate steemit. In fact, I was thinking, I should probably mention STEEMIT to these people at The Plant. Steemit COULD be a closed loop system. Imagine if you got all your friends off facebook and on to steemit. If people stop selling their steem into other cryptocurrencies, Steemit could be a closed-loop system like The Plant. Everyone could just support each other with the STEEM currency and investors in awe of what steemit is, could bring more money into steemit.

@ackza showed me a leet steemit chatroom. i hung out with them on friday it was pretty fun. check it out.
https://discordapp.com/channels/237364424103428108/364872455774535680

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center