Motorcycle travel series by @velimir 'Zagorje 30' (Part #140)

Just as I start to ride, I remember that this is something I always wanted to write about and usually forget. Not this time! :) What you see right there is what we colloquially call a "laying cop", a speed limitation system with numerous limitations, introduced a few years ago to the dread and fear of many car drivers and to the joy and prosperity of many car service owners.

In the beginning, the system was used with caution, only close to schools and hospitals, what nobody minded but, on the contrary, we all welcomed it as a safety measure to prevent accidents involving children and elderly. Soon after that, when powers to be realized how much money can be made by taking kickbacks from the importers, they senselessly started to pop these monsters everywhere.

These are the only warnings that a monster is laying in front of you.

So when a car is to cross the obstacle, a driver usually slows down to 10km/h and, in doing so, endangers the vehicle behind. The driver of the vehicle behind has no clue why the car in front of him decided to suddenly break. And guess what - it's his fault if he hits another car from behind, right?

For motorcyclists, these represent a whole new dimension of danger. Not only that we have a longer breaking time and limited options in curves than the cars but we are supposed (by the law) to go straight over these things. Stupid, ha? Tell me, who in the sane mind would ride over that? So, nobody does, of course. I've never seen anyone do it, except very likely as a part of a motorcycle riding exam. We all go around them and put ourselves in danger. Isn't that a hilarious fact?

In the winter the snow cleaning service vehicles usually break the "laying cops" and they are gracefully replaced with the new ones in the spring. Secured income, right? The screws often fall out and puncture car tyres (happened to me personally).

There is no proof these things save lives, except in places like schools and hospitals (what I welcome) but I've surely seen the danger of accidents and the damage they cause to the vehicles if driven over at regular speeds.

"Laying cops" are everywhere because someone's got to make money, right?

Enjoy your day and don't let them install them where you live! :)

(Note: This is my second trip to Zagorje through a different route. The first trip ended with part Zagorje 29, so I'll continue to number parts from there.)



©2017 Velimir Kovačić All rights reserved.



All images and text published in this post are my original work. I encourage everyone to use own texts, thoughts and images as much as possible. Be yourself and stay yourself. This is a proper way to build steemit.com. I strongly encourage all efforts leading to weeding out all of the dishonest authors.





• For good, inspirational read on various subjects follow: @gavvet
• For crypto news, follow always up-to-date @kingscrown 's blog on the subject.
• I really like to read @vcelier 's life story!


• Vote @thecryptodrive and @reggaemuffin for your witnesses in the Witness Parliament. They are kind people who will represent you well.

I'd like to extend my gratitude to everyone who continuously supports both of my ongoing projects (Motorcycle Travel Series and Art Photography Series). Big thank you for enjoying the content and appreciating my effort. This is what steemit.com is meant to be about.





I am a member of the @buildteam crew, the innovative creators of @minnowbooster @steemvoter and @steemsports blockchain projects.
Go Buildteam


The @adsactly society is a meeting point for free thinking individuals who want to cooperate. It is a welcome addition to Steemit.com community. I work in the society's administration. Feel free to ask about it.


Go Adsactly


The @adsactly society Discord channel is here: ADSactly You are welcome to join!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center