Favorite TO DO's While in Hawaii on the Island of Oahu - My Trip in February 2018

FullSizeRender (22).jpg

Hello Steemit World. This is my first post. I am Craig and I am here to share my travels and stories with you. I also post my travel stories, tips and guides on my blog at TrekWithCraig.com

I recently got back from Oahu, Hawaii with my close friend Ahmi. Since this was my 6th time here, I have a few favorite things I like to visit and do while on the island. I will share those with you. This was Ahmi's FIRST time in Hawaii, so I wanted to make sure he got the full experience. Here you can see I made sure that he was welcomed with the traditional floral Lei.

IMG_5769.JPG

This was the first time I have ever staying with a friend who lives on the island. Our mutual friend Walter lives north of Waikiki, in Makaha. This was the view from his condo...

IMG_5774.JPG

IMG_5776.JPG

Our first stop after getting settled at Walter's was to check out Waikiki Beach and get ourselves some drinks.

FullSizeRender (12).jpg

Waikiki Beach looking South towards Diamond Head

When you think of a cocktail in Hawaii, you think of a beautiful tropical drink. The Mai Tai Bar at the Royal Hawaiian Hotel is one of the only places you can still get a Pina Colada served in a pineapple...

FullSizeRender (2).jpg
"The Royal Pinapple" at the Mai Tai Bar in the Royal Hawaiian Resort on Waikiki Beach


IMG_5783.JPG
Ahmi, Craig and Walter enjoying our Pina Colodas

From there we decided to check out the sites on Waikiki Beach...

FullSizeRender (1).jpg
Ahmi and I on the pier at Waikiki Beach



FullSizeRender (4).jpg


FullSizeRender (9).jpg



After the beach it was time to check Hula's Bar & Lei Stand for more drinks and watch the sunset from their balcony. Hula's is my favorite bar to go to at sunset and enjoy a Mai Tai...

FullSizeRender (14).jpg
Mai Tai's all around!

After the Mai Tais, there was dancing and debauchery...then back to Walter's for the night. The following day we booked a VIP Ambassador tour at one of my favorite places on Oahu, The Polynesian Cultural Center run by the students at the nearby University. There you can learn about all the Polynesian cultures and Islands. You will learn some of the language, food, clothing, housing construction and dances. Here we are with a few of the Hawaiian Dancers...

FullSizeRender (19).jpg

You can also learn how to dance like a native. Here is Ahmi learning how to hula...


If you want to see the various dances of the other Polynesian islands, then venture to the flowing river and watch the floating dance show...

Polynesian_Cultural_Center_-_Canoe_Pageant_(8329431444).jpg


samoa.jpg


tahiti.jpg

After all that dancing and walking around visiting the different areas "islands" it was time for the big feast, The Luau! This is by far my favorite dining experience while in Hawaii. The Luau is a traditional family like experience filled with music, more dancing, food and a pig roasted in an earth oven. Don't forget to try the poi, a staple in the Polynesian diet...

FullSizeRender (25).jpg
Ahmi and I at the Luau

As night approached it was off to see the famous live show "Ha, Breath of Life" in the large open air theatre...

ha3.jpg


ha-show1.jpg


ha2.jpg


ha4.jpg

As the night closed it was time to say goodbye to the Polynesian Cultural Center and their students. Be sure to throw up your shaka with the famous bronze statue honoring the Founder of the Shaka, Hamana Kalili...

FullSizeRender (26).jpg

The following day we decided to take a trip up to North shore, on the way we stopped at the Dole Pineapple Plantation.

IMG_5804.JPG

There are plenty of things to do here, there is a train that takes you through the grounds where pineapple is grown, a corn maze, beautiful floral gardens, a gift shop and don't forget to try some Dole Whip!

FullSizeRender (15).jpg
Ahmi and I enjoying some Dole Whip


IMG_5806.JPG
Ahmi trying to look a little slimmer after all that Dole Whip


pineapple-express.jpg
The Pineapple Express


pineapple-fields.jpg
Pineapple Fields


pinapple-fields-others.jpg
Other vegetation at the plantation


pineapple-plantation-garden1.jpg
Garden waterfall at the plantation

Another must see is the Arizona Memorial at Pearl Harbor. A great learning experience about the Attack on Pearl Harbor and the Beginning of American Involvement in World War II...

FullSizeRender (18).jpg
The Arizona Memorial


FullSizeRender (16).jpg
Ahmi and I taking the boat trip out to the Arizona Memorial


FullSizeRender (17).jpg
The wall inside the Memorial honoring those that had fallen in the attack

The next day was a short trip up to Diamond Head and Pali Lookout point. There you can look out over the valleys...

IMG_5841.JPG
Lookout Point near Diamond Head with a view of the South end of Oahu


IMG_5842.JPG
Pali Lookout Point (Nuʻuanu Pali)


IMG_5843.JPG
Pali Lookout Point, viewing the wayward valley and coast of Oahu

On our final day, I booked another Luau, as a island send-off and romantic closure to our trip. My absolute favorite of the island is one offered by Germaine's Luau, the Original Backyard-style family luau--right on the beach! They offer hotel pick-ups at various locations. This is also must-do...

IMG_5887.JPG
Germain's Luau - More Hula Dancing!


IMG_5889.JPG
Ahmi watching the dance during dinner


IMG_5900.JPG
Ahmi and I at dinner


FullSizeRender (27).jpg

Thank you for viewing my trip to Oahu, Hawaii. There is still plenty more to do on the island. I have just shared with you a few of my favorites. I hope you will try them when you go. Hawaii is truly The Gem of the United States! Let me know where you have been and what are your favorite spots and things to do.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now