Getting to know the "Pico el Águila", home of the Andean Condor, State. Merida, Venezuela

This post is dedicated to one of the most impressive birds I have ever seen in my life, the Andean Condor, I had the opportunity to be near them during my visit to the famous "Pico el Aguila", located in one of the highest mountains in the state of Merida, Venezuela.


CONDOR11.jpg


This bird lives in mountainous places of low temperatures, can weigh up to 15 kg, are usually black, but have a characteristic white "collar", in addition to some marks of the same color on the wings. Like their relatives, Californian condors, Andean condors have bald heads. These birds are vultures, they usually feed on carrion, large animals (wild or domesticated), sometimes they attack the nests of other birds where they lay their eggs.


CONDOR2.jpg


These long-lived birds have survived more than 75 years in captivity, but they breed slowly. Each breeding pair has only one calf every two years, and both parents must take care of it for a full year.

In the images you can visualize the cold weather that exists in these mountains (-5°C).


CONDOR3.jpg


Thankful for your visit to my blog, I look forward to your comments, I will take them with pleasure to continue improving in each of my publications.


CONDOR4.jpg


I hope you liked it…

These pictures were taken with my Samsung Galaxy S2 phone.


Greetings and until the next opportunity.


@thetiger

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now