German "Treehouses" (hunting blinds/shelters) I found while exploring.

So, at the moment I am exploring some of the lovely German countryside, as I mentioned in a previous post. The forest I am nearby is full of deer and boar, and also full of these strange "tree house" structures that I eventually found out were used by the local hunters for hunting the deer and boar.

I figured it would be interesting to take some photos of some of them and also of the views available from inside them, what is inside them, and suchlike. Everyone has different opinions on the ethics of hunting, and I don't want to get into that quagmire, here I just want to show these amazing structures off and the views from some of them.

So, the first image here is a lovely (in my opinion!) shot I took while about to climb into one of these. They are very sturdy and well built, German engineering of course!

8IHOHIimage.jpeg

So we have climbed up the ladder, and we find that these things even have doors that are lockable from the outside, so to prevent them flapping in the wind and possibly getting damaged. This really showed me that some care and attention went into building these structures.

V8YPFAimage.jpeg

So we open the door and step inside. The inside is clean, comfortable, and shows that these are clearly built to last and to an extremely high standard. I honestly think that one could easily spend the night in one of these with a sleeping bag, in a pinch. The "seat" is movable, and the windows can be locked open. This is for the purpose of shooting from them.

YESD77image.jpeg

The following images show the view from inside the platform, through the windows. As you can see, this provides an excellent vantage point all around, which clearly makes life very easy for the hunters to engage their quarry.

7BKGEZimage.jpeg
N5QKDTimage.jpeg
N8KBESimage.jpeg
NVBFMBimage.jpeg

Next, we stood out onto that platform and took a look around, taking in some nice views from up high, getting a different perspective of the forest we were in.

SL3KIDimage.jpeg

Finally, it was time to carry on. The following image is not so good, as I was moving while I took it, but below it is a better image of a different hunting shelter! I put both in, as the not-so-good image shows the scale of the construction, while the better image shows more detail. I think I will visit the second one I found and check out the views from it tomorrow perhaps - it overlooks a large clearing that is apparently frequented by the wild boar in the area.

6LVR4Fimage.jpeg
1ODSVWimage.jpeg

Thanks for following along with this, I'll probably be posting more images taken during my travels soon. Any comments or criticism is very welcome, just drop it in the comments below :)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now