Rattlesnake Canyon Backpacking and Doggo

A few weeks ago my GF and I decided to backpack to Rattlesnake Canyon in the Black Ridge Canyon Wilderness near Grand Junction Colorado. This canyon contains 9 natural arches, the second highest concentration of arches in the United States. Unfortunately it was very windy and I was unable to get any good drone shots, however I wanted to share a few of my favorite stills from the trip.
Blaze Epic.jpg
I know the color is intense on this first picture, I really wanted to make the scene pop and bring out that bag on the doggo. The shot isn't for everybody but it might be my favorite from the trip.

Blaze.jpg
A good boi waiting in the shade. He carries his own water and food when out on overnight trips.

Cairn.jpg
Some impressive cairns along the trail.

Rocks.jpg

Spire.jpg
A sandstone spire.

Arch 2.jpg
The East Rim Arch, is the largest arch in the canyon and the only one I managed to get any quality pictures of.

Canyon.jpg
This photo looks down from the bench where the arches are located into the valley below.

Arch.jpg
This final shot was cropped down from a larger pano, if you look closely you can see my GF standing at the base of the arch. The total trip was 18 miles long due to taking a few wrong trails. Wind was brutal and water very rare, if it hadn't been the rainy season we would not have found any at all. I highly recommend this trail as an early season overnight but I would stay far far away by the time the summer heat hits the Grand Valley. All pictures were taken on an Iphone X and edited with Darkroom.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center