Patterns on the Roof Side Wall in Sin Reuk Sa temple in Yeo Ju City, Korea

I found out the patterns on the side wall of the roof in Sin Reuk Sa temple.
The walls were the 9 dragons pavilion and the Geuk Lak Jeon Hall.
Strangely enough, I hadn’t notice the fact that there were patterns on the side wall of the roof up until now.

In my first view, the patterns didn’t seem to have any implication relating to the Buddhism.
Actually I didn’t know those patterns have any specific meanings.

In my opinion, the side wall of the roof could be the open space for the architectures.
So the masters of the building could’ve make the patterns as much as they want to.

The first one was the patterns on the roof wall of Geuk Lak Jeon Hall

_C120672.JPG

_C120673.JPG

The second was the patterns of the 9 dragons pavilion.

_C120740.JPG

_C120739.JPG

In my opinion, those patterns looked like to be influence by the Korean traditional fork culture.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center