Pagodas Brought from Won Ju City Which Lost Their Temple Place

Pagodas standing in the fore park of the National Museum had 2 common points. The first was all of pagodas were made in Goryeo dynasty. The second was the original places of those pagodas were ruined due to several causes.

As my thought approaching to the ruined place, pagodas looked different for me. Suddenly it seemed there was a sad voice from inside of the stone pagoda. It seemed that I heard the mason’s voice who made the pagoda.

All of pagodas’s original place were destroyed. Especially half of pagodas were brought from WonJu city. I could not understand why the temple places in Won Ju city were destroyed that much.

Anyhow, pagodas in the park of the Museum made me think sad history of disappeared Kingdom. And I made up my mind to look around the ruined temple place in Won Ju city. The pagoda's shape was typically that of Goryeo dynasty.
I looked not so well balanced, sometimes they reminded me of pagodas in Wun Ju Sa temple filled the whole valleys.

22.JPG

24_1.JPG

28_1.JPG

28.JPG

Why are many temples ruined in Won Ju City ?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now