One of The gGreat Buddhist Building in Korea. Keuglak-Jeon Hall of Muryang-sa temple

Keuglak-jeon is the hall for serving Maitreya, the future Buddha.
Here, I'd like to explain that keuglak means the paradise in literally. It seems when Maitreya Buddha comes to this world, whole world becomes the paradise by the salvation of Maitreya Buddha.

_9020777.JPG

_9020765.JPG

It was not long ago the I heard about the 3 great Buddhist hall in Korea. That’s the reason to visit Muryang-sa temple where was not easy to get there. This temple was located in the difficult location to get there from my place.

I could srealize why people said Keuglak-jeon as the one of the 3 great Buddhist building, when I got there. Seeing this building, I thought it deserve to hear this assessment. It stood on the ground with its grandiose appearance passing through the tough history.

I took the pics of the hall from every direction. It has its own beauty.

_9020731.JPG

_9020729.JPG

The patterns of the window and the pillars were so nice and it seemed to tell us its long history.

_9020732.JPG

_9020735.JPG

As walking around the hall, I noticed that the draining system around the building was as same as that of Daewung-jeon in Sudeok-sa temple which was built in Goryeo dynasty not far from each other.

(Muryang-sa)
_9020815.JPG

(Sudeok-sa)
_7220539.JPG

That fact made me think that the architectural stye of Goryeo dynasty was inherited in this area.

One thing made me curious was why they did not count Mireuk-Jeon in Geumsan-sa temple of the great Buddhist hall, which was 3 story Buddhist hall for Maitreya Buddha and built after the Japanese Invasion.

Speaking of the size, Mireuk-joen in Keumsan-sa temple was bigger than Keuglak-jeon in Muryang-sa as below.

_6130207.JPG

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center