ImagesPhoto I took today at Zion National Park, Canyon Overlook.

image.png

I did the Angels Landing hike last year. Wish I had more than one day to explore that park, it’s so beautiful.
This HAS to be the most visited park in the US considering the fact that I see a photo of it on the front page once a day minimum.
I’m a regular in the summertime and the huge increase in popularity makes it feel more like a theme park every year... I love that people are getting to experience Zion, but I hope they start limiting visitation because it’s a shit show down there between May and August.
How's the traffic in the off-season? I was thinking about making a trip in early May but could just as well drive out any time of year.
We went in April. Busy, sure, but not insane.
Agreed. I’ve been to nearly every national park and Zion and Yosemite are tops. Arches and Glacier are runner-ups.
Yosemite, Grand Canyon, and Yellowstone usually get more total visitors, but they all have big areas that get very few people. Zion, Bryce Canyon, and Arches are probably the most crowded western national parks overall.

I'll be honest, I did about 30 North American national parks last year, Banff takes the cake. Was an absolute shitshow.
Yes anyone complaining about us national parks has never tried finding parking at Lake Louise during summer weekends.
So glad RMNP is not on this list so that I can keep that little gem all to myself!
It's so beautiful!! What camera/settings did you use?
Went there last year, it was beautiful, so red. Couldn't do long hikes though.

I went last August. Started hiking observation point at 2 PM in the sun on a 105-degree day, drank 90% of my water on the way up, felt what it was like to bake from the inside, would do it again every day for the rest of my life. Coolest place I’ve ever been.
Went there in June and it was very mild, actually cold in the mornings. You're at pretty high altitude. I think the highs were like the upper 70s to lower 80s. It's unbelievably crowded, though. If you want to camp at any of the first come, first served grounds inside the park you need to arrive and line up no later than 4:00 am so you can (hopefully) get a space as someone leaves around 8:00. The park is well worth it I think though, and if you do any longer hikes the crowds drop away pretty quickly.
Beautiful! Was so pleased with this view. Given the length of the hike, I somehow didn't expect much payoff, but I was wrong!

Off to Arches and Canyonlands in May and I'm so excited!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center