My Surprise Trip to Alaska - Part 1

IMG_467407205.th.jpg

An Unexpected Journey

In my intro post, I mentioned that I was in Alaska recently.

The crazy thing is.. I didn't know I was going to Alaska, and I didn't have any plans to go there any time soon. But, as I said in that post, the mastermind group I'm in is usually the cause of crazy and unexpected things in my life.


Recharging in the Wilderness

alaska909f8.gif
Peaceful, isn't it?
Photo Credit: Me

Above, you see a small boat on a beautiful, serene lake in Alaska. And the moment really was that wonderful.
I wish I could be back there now - I felt more connected with nature than I had been in years.

On that pebbly beach out in the woods, I sat on a log and caught up with my good friend @mgat. It felt great to just sit and talk with someone like that without any distractions. I felt more relaxed, less scattered, and I found myself really tuned-in to what we were talking about.

I couldn't recommend it more.


Something, Something, Juxtaposition

But let's back up exactly 24 hours - back to when I had absolutely no clue that I'd be in Alaska a day later.

It was a completely different kind of vibe:


Video Credit: Me

pillowcase
Photo Credit: @decimus

See, immediately before Alaska, I was actually in Las Vegas doing some pretty ridiculous things.

You might have also seen in my intro post that I mentioned being handcuffed and lightly tortured to learn about stress inoculation. That was actually part of an entire weekend intensive in which my group had to do various spy-like missions around Vegas.

We were broken up into small, competing teams, and were told that those who did well would get a nice reward.

They did.

Ferrari
Okay, fine - they only got to drive it for a day, but still.
Source: @mgat

While I did have to do things that made me very uncomfortable (in a good way), the most notable thing was how little sleep I was running on.

Let me give you an example.

The first night, at 11:45pm, we were instructed to open the envelope containing our next mission. This is what was inside:

IMG_50729d4be.jpg
Photo Credit: Me

By the time I got back to my room that night, it was around 1am. I set the alarm for 5:30am and quietly assured myself that it was just one weekend, and that I could get through it.

And I did get through it - in fact, it taught me a lot about myself.

In brief, it's incredibly valuable to be pushed to do challenging things and put under stress while you're low on sleep. You learn a lot about how you're going to react when a real, stressful situation comes up - and you have to make not just a decision, but the right decision.
To be honest, I didn't like everything that I saw about myself. And since I was captain of my team, neither did some of my teammates. I really can't blame them - there were some things I simply did not handle well.
It was a very powerful experience to have to face myself at my worst and watch how I behaved.

Now, since this post is ultimately about my trip to Alaska, I won't go into all the craziness that went down during that weekend. But suffice it to say: it was a lot of action and very little sleep.


To Drive a Tank

On the last day, we finished up around 7pm. After watching the winning team crush an (unoccupied) car with a tank, my teammates and I grabbed a celebratory dinner at Bazaar Meat. My team did take third place, after all, so we wanted to treat ourselves.

Around 1am, I hopped into bed anticipating the second part of this adventure.

You see, as if this weekend wasn't enough, I had signed up to go on a mystery trip with the group. And for 6 months leading up to the trip, the organizers had been dropping subtle hints that we were going to Mexico.

In fact, a few weeks before the trip, I received the following email.

vivalamexico32b12.png
Source: My Inbox

I was a little pissed because I liked the uncertainty of not knowing where I'd be going. I was thinking, "Oh come on, you make a big deal about this trip being a mystery, and then ruin the surprise in an email?"

Boy was I wrong, but I wouldn't realize that until the next day - at the airport.


An Early Morning Surprise

So I woke up around 5am. We had been given instructions to be in the lobby around 5:45am so we could board the bus at 6.

We all gathered in the lobby, and sure enough, right around that time, a tour bus pulled up. As the doors turned open, I eagerly anticipated a long, sleepy ride down to Mexico.

What happened next was probably one of the strangest things I've experienced.

We all boarded the bus. I went about halfway back and sat next to a close friend of mine, not taking notice of my surroundings. Some of the other group members plopped down in their seats and promptly passed out. I started preparing myself to do the same.

Then, one of the coordinators the trip stood up and began to make an announcement. He told us we had a very exciting trip ahead of us and said some other ambiguous things, finishing up his announcement with,

"And without further ado, turn it up!"

And then this happened:


Video Credit: Me

Yes that's right.
A real, live, loud Mariachi band was hiding in the back of our bus, and was now blasting the sweet, grating tones of its instruments to us at 6 in the morning.

And without skipping a beat, the bus peeled out of the hotel parking lot and took off.


We're Just Getting Started

I got distracted talking to my friend for a while until he stopped me and said "Wait a minute - we've passed that same building like three times! Are we fucking driving in circles?!"

We were.

Correction: Up at 5am to be blasted with live Mariachi music and drive around Las Vegas in circles on a tour bus.

I can't remember the last time I was more disoriented.

That's all for now. Stay tuned for Part 2 and how I actually ended up in Alaska.

IMG_4765ce639.md.jpg
Photo credit: Me


icebatha6e77.th.png

Hey, I'm Ryan.

I'm a software engineer living in the Bay Area who's into hypnosis, handwriting analysis, and futurism. You can learn more about me from my intro post.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center