Paris at night is golden!

20161210_175529.jpeg

20161211_173247.jpeg

20161211_172829.jpeg

20161030_193011.jpeg

I think it was my fourth time in Paris. The only reason I went to Paris was that these plane-tickets were the only cheap ones I could find. It was Halloween and I just had to leave Ireland for a bit.

To be honest, I didn't look forward to my trip to Paris at all. The previous visits were so bad, you could almost say that I had a Paris-trauma. For many years, I was one of the few people on this planet that really dislike Paris. I thought I would never visit again... and here I was, on a cheap flight to the city I despise.

My hotel was the best one could ever ask for. It was close to a metro station with a direct connection to the airport. And I could see the Notre Dame from my hotel room. It was small and cosy and very French. I couldn't close the bathroom door when I was on the toilet. The room was covered with tacky wooden panels. The red velvet curtains matched the red flowered wallpaper. Everything was crooked and looked like it almost fell apart and just when I dropped my bag and jumped on the bed to take this ugliness all in, I fell in love with Paris.

It was a full moon, so that must have influenced me. Before I knew it I was walking through the city after dark. On my way to Eiffel Tower because I had never seen it up close. I had a much too long chat with an artist in front of the Notre Dame, was mesmerised by the beautiful symmetrical photographic options near the Louvre and almost didn't make it to the Eiffel Tower before bedtime.

My Halloween surprised me. I learned that I loved Paris... and that I needed a more decent camera to capture the city's beauty. I booked another ticket for a longer stay straight away. 2 Months later I returned to Paris.

20161211_174316.jpeg

20161211_174313.jpeg

20161211_173200.jpeg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now