My trip to the Caribbean - Trinidad and Tobago - The best, the worst and travel tips

In August of last year, looking for a destination to meet, I came across Trinidad and Tobago; Although I did not know much about this country and it never crossed my mind to visit it, I bought a ticket with my family and we embarked on this journey that exceeded our expectations.

Made up of two islands, a large one with commercial life, high buildings and brown sand beaches; and another small one, Tobago, with a Caribbean atmosphere, palm trees everywhere and crystalline beaches.

10516709_10203179514748965_4345097645593057758_n.jpg

We arrived and we found an impressive kindness on the part of two islanders who offered to give us a ride at no cost from the airport to the nearest shopping center. When we arrived at the mall, we noticed how expensive it was to buy in the city compared to prices in other countries, even though the change from US $ to TT $ favored us.

10427366_10203146473082944_8127806828331169748_n (1).jpg

The first days we spent in the capital, Port of Spain, we toured the center of the city, which in my opinion is dirty, chaotic and unnecessary to travel, good products or low prices are not found; It is dangerous, so I would avoid returning if I did not have to do a specific activity.

Days later, I visited Maracas Bay, a beach that I had been recommended at the hotel as the best in the world, in which I disagree since later I met another that would really be in my top 10 of the best beaches I have visited.

10622732_10203179473507934_5605319443834844279_n (1).jpg

They recommended us to take a ferry to the island of Tobago, which seemed to be a bad decision, the tide is strong and dizziness is imminent, I spent 4 hours regretting every minute of having agreed to ride on that boat. However, my surprise on arrival was that it was a tropical environment very different from the one I had just left behind, we arrived at Pigeon Point and took a catamaran via Nylon Pools, or what could be defined as white sand cays in the middle of the sea, with crystal clear waters where we practice Snokerling, and relax in calm, crystal clear waters in the middle of the ocean. Undoubtedly, this experience made it worth every minute mounted on the turbulent ferry, in addition to having completely changed my experience in this country.

We returned to Trinidad and we completed our adventure touring the city, we found beautiful corners to spend time with family reflecting that, although we had low expectations of this destination taken at random, there will always be something that surprises you and makes everything that initially It seemed like a journey, it becomes an unforgettable adventure.

60653_10203151504168718_2258732176690906171_n.jpg

TRAVEL TIPS

  • The official language of Trinidad and Tobago is English, although it is quite complicated to understand the inhabitants, even when you think you have a good level of English.

  • The voltage in Trinidad and Tobago is 155 volts and the plug used is type A or B.

  • A mosquito repellent should not be left in the luggage.

  • If you decide to rent a car, you should know that in Trinidad and Tobago you drive on the left in the best English style.

  • 1 USD is quoted at 6.41 TT $, usually the exchange offices charge 5% of that amount.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now