Feelgood Friday Fishes #5 - Disco Diner

Having spent an amazing day at sea with two of my favourite things in the world, my other half and my underwater camera we were loading the boat into the trailer when I spotted these two little guys. 

It's one of those super cool occasions where you don't need to be in the water to enjoy the show taking place beneath the surface. The visibility was pretty good so it was easy to spot these two shy sharks hunting for dinner. Usually if these little fish are frightened they curl up in a little doughnut and cover their eyes with their tail which is where they get their name.

Although I've been diving and taking underwater images for over a decade, it's the first time I've ever seen puffadder shy sharks feeding on snails. On this occasion I was filming blind, just dipping the camera below the surface and hitting record, so it wasn't until I got home I realised what I'd actually got. 

https://vimeo.com/248516260

I shot a couple of clips but this one made me smile as in the bottom left hand corner of the screen you can just about see a writhing pile of slithering snails, top of the menu for these hungry little sharks.

Spending a long time beneath the waves has taught me a lot about about taking time out to sit back and watch. Even on days when the visibility is bad, there's always something new to discover in our ever changing oceans.

Footage filmed in Kommetjie, South Africa
Music Credit: Lorde - Pure Heroine - Biting Down - 2013

!steemitworldmap -34.139870 lat 18.322138 Shy sharks - Kommetjie, Cape Town d3scr

#teamsouthafrica

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now