Songs That Make Me Happy In Indonesia

I’m ashamed to say that I don’t get a chance to hear Indonesian music very much. When I do, it’s because for some random reason I happened to take a grab car that’s actually playing Indonesian music. Or because Tresi (owner’s daughter at my homestay) makes me listen to popular Indonesian songs and do weird motions with my fingers to the music so she can film and humiliate me.

So, I’ll share the moments with you!

Siti Badriah-Lagi Syantik

Right now, this is one of the most popular songs in Indonesia. If you sing a few lines from this song, you’ll instantly have local friends. If you do this lil' “finger dance thing” with it, then everyone will laugh and you’ll wonder if you accidentally did something dirty.

But you’ll have local friends and it’ll be great.

I actually kinda can’t help dancing to Lagi Syantik. It grew on me. So embarrassed to admit I like this song.

But I like it because I totally use it as an icebreaker to make friends with locals haha. Not that you need much of an icebreaker since Indonesians are just super friendly in general.

Dengarkan Dia - Rindu

This one was from a grab car, which is a pretty lame back-story, I know. I’m sorry.

Hey! Turns out I kinda like the beginning of the video.

Abdul and The Coffee Theory-Aku suka Caramu

Here’s one I also heard in a grab car that I thought was pretty nice. Kind of happy-go-lucky. It seriously reminds me of a song that used to be popular in the US…but I can’t remember which one!

Oh, maybe it’s this one that it reminds me of?! Baby, it’s fact by Hellogoodbye.

Well, that’s it for #TravelTunesTuesday! What are some songs you’ve heard while traveling?

Tag them #TravelTunesTuesday so we can see and upvote!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center