Belize - Caye Caulker and Hopkins

I've been to Belize twice and each time I spent about a week there. Both times I had been passing from Mexico to Guatemala and did not want to miss the chance to discover this country. The language alone already differs Belize from the rest of Central America and also culturally this country offers a whole new world to every traveller as soon as you cross the border. Belize is the smallest country in Central America, but despite its size it has much to offer and is definitely worth a visit. Although it is not among the cheapest destinations in Central America, it is still much cheaper (at least when I was there last time) than for example, Panama or Costa Rica.

During my travels, I visited the two popular tourist destinations Caye Caulker and Hopkins in Belize and made short stopovers in Belize City and Punta Gorda due to departure and entry.

Caye Caulker

Most tourists who come to Belize sooner or later end up on the island of Caye Caulker. This backpacker's paradise is located not far from Belize City and is just right for anyone looking for "100% Caribbean feeling". There is no traffic on Caye Caulker and the small island can easily be walked around on foot or by one of the many golf carts. You definitely shouldn’t miss snorkeling or diving in the nearby Barrier Reef.

DSC03123.JPG

DSC03119.JPG

DSC03130.JPG

DSC03121.JPG

Hopkins

Hopkins is a sleepy village, far less touristy than Caye Caulker and with its beautiful beaches just perfect for relaxing. Accommodations are available in every price range and a small supermarket provides you with everything you need - otherwise there is not much going on in the small village! So just put your hammock in one of the palm trees on the beach and relax for a few days!

DSC05252.JPG

IMG_20160911_125449.jpg

Thank you for reading, I hope you liked my post and my photos! All photos were taken by myself. Feel free to comment, upvote, follow me and resteem!

Steemit Worldmap:
!steemitworldmap 17.273476 lat -88.315102 long Belize - Caye Caulker and Hopkins d3scr

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now