Exploring The South African Countryside

It's been about two millennia since I last posted on Steemit, I feel so bad for running away, but a lot has been happening. I'm back now though and I'm keen to share my experiences once again!

I recently had the fortune of spending a bit of time out in the South African countryside, in an area called Muldersdrift. The location is stunning, quaint, and peaceful, with a vast open expanse of veld and hills. Many visitors to South Africa will flock either to a major city like Cape Town, or a game reserve like the Kruger, but highly recommend checking out Muldersdrift too.

My girlfriend and I stayed at the cheapest place we could find - roughly R700 ($50) a night, and it was way above our expectations. The lodge was in a valley situated deep in the woods, surrounded by wide stretches of hills. There were some farm animals which we befriended and the staff were really friendly. It just goes to show, sometimes the least glamorous approach to travelling is the most rewarding!

Being major foodies, we were fortunate enough to stumble across a really great hidden treasure called Bidon's Bistro. This place was kickass! They were just off the main road, hidden behind a collection of shrubs and trees, but the actual restaurant was sophisticated and well maintained. They had several dogs that were part of the furniture, as well as a pig and a few chickens. The food was ridiculously good, and the coffee was perfect for early morning missions. 10 out of 10, would do again!

Overall, the venture outside my comfort zone of couch and TV was a success, I love the seldom break off into the vast outdoors, away from technology and traffic. The biggest take-away for me is the rewarding nature of a simplistic existence. The people and places we came into contact with get by just fine without super fast WiFi and a Netflix subscription, and perhaps they're better off for it. Can't say I'll be leaping up at 4 a.m. to milk cows anytime soon, but it's and interesting thought nonetheless.

Thanks for reading this post! I haven't posted in a while, and this is far off from my usual content, but I hope you enjoyed it! please feel free to check out the rest of my work and follow me for more cool stuff. Here's a photo of me, in case you were wondering:

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now