Taoyuan ... First impressions of this Taiwan City

There is a fast-paced grittiness to Taoyuan.
20180504_095029.jpg
The traffic is heavier, the car pollution thicker, the people move at a faster pace & multiplenesses are condensed.

Multiplenesses?

Yes. Walking down one street, and into another, you are confronted with different levels.
A richer area is a street away from a poorer one.
I walked from a shopping area, through a red light area, restaurants, a temple, and ended at an elementary school.
All within a 1km walk.

I sip my coffee near my hotel.

It's called "Fountain Coffee".
The signage resembles a Starbuck type business but with no bells and whistles.


Last night I found a little noodle restaurant.

Fortunately, for me, the Cantonese words for "beef" and "noodle" is similar to the Mandarin.
I was able to talk and point.
For 150 twd I got the beef noodles and a can of coke.

20180503_193703.jpg

The nobleness of the people still endures.
As I pulled something out of my pocket, I didn't realise that 300 TWD fell out of my pocket.

A young man noticed and got it for me.
That type of character is another reason I like Taiwan and its people.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now