The last effort to see the bigger world. A sincere letter for Consulate General of Canada 💌💌💌

Everything was so hard with Vietnamese

Besides quitting a job, preparing for visa is even much more harder. I really envy with someones who are able to travel any where in the world with just a passport. You know, as all poverty and developing countries, Vietnam is considered as “third world” which causes every goverment deeply concern about illegal immigration.

Since I’m Vietnamese, so I need visa for most of countries I’m going to visit, even some countries I just transit and stay in airport. There were over 3 times I bursted into tears because of hopelessness, of wanting to give up, of thinking that I am not able to go anywhere since I am vietnamese. That was the first time I felt bad about my nationality. I even thought about I might get a fake marriage with American or Korean,... to be easier with visa stuff. What a crazy idea but in that time, actually I did thought about it.


The last problem

I was still able to handle most of visa stuffs. I carried out little by little, step by step. Everything was gradually going to be fine then the biggest problem popped out. I will transit in Canada but firstly I didnt think I need transit visa because I will just stay in airport. After that I realized I must have it, but I didnt check duration of visa procedure. I thought I had enough time to carry out because it was just transit visa, it is not a big deal, it must be simple and easy to get. But It turned out not to be like that. It takes 51 days to Consulate General of Canada grant visa for me. Omg. How come? I just needed 3 days to get Peru Visa, 8 days to get Korean Visa,... and now it takes 51 days just for Canadian transit visa. Seriously? I felt like breaking down and extremely panic since I had just 30 days left - a half of that duration.


The last effort to see the bigger world

Changing flight ticket also means that I will lose ton of money and break all schedule. I had no choice, I was cornered. Then I decided to send a letter to Consulate General of Canada to ask for a favor. I set all my hopes on it and cherish a ray of hope that they will give me an exceptional approval.


B7558DB2-8A4C-436B-B740-4219A7ABFB71.jpeg


Dear Sir,

I am planing to travel South America during this coming March. My flight will take off from Hanoi, Vietnam on March 27 (2018), transit in Shanghai, China, and transit in Toronto, Canada before arriving at my destination in Lima, Peru.

I received an approval for every other visa required for my trip; however, I did not think I needed a transit visa to transit in through Toronto Airport. I have just recognized that a few days ago and applied my documents this morning on January 22 (2018), Toronto, Canada time.

I have done my research and realize that it will take 51 days to finish my Canadian transit visa procedure. But my flight will take off on March 27 (2018), leaving me with just 35 days. I realize that this was due to my lack of research on the Canadian visa policy and my excitement for the overall trip.
The transit time at the Toronto airport will be about 22 hours. I will not be leaving the airport and will wait patiently for my next flight. I also realize that I'm pushing my luck here by sending you this request; however, I have already prepared everything for my trip: visas, hotel bookings, transportation bookings, etc. If I am unable to receive my Canadian transit visa, I have to cancel everything and the costs will be too much for me to fathom.

With the little luck I may or may not have, I write this letter to you. It is a favor that could potentially change my life and propel me forward to my future goals. So, I humbly ask of you, would you approve my documents for a Canadian transit visa sooner than the regulation requires? I will need to have your approval and Canadian transit visa by March 25 (2018), at the latest.

Most Vietnamese people don't have the leisure to travel outside of their country, I wish to be able to experience it first hand and with the experience I learn, I wish to create a bridge for other Vietnamese people to enjoy the beauty that our Earth has to offer. This trip will be an amazing and meaningful experience I may not get a second chance at. I now leave everything in your humble hands and cross my fingers in hope for an approval.

Thank you!

Best Regards,


It is going to be fine, isn’t it?

After sending that letter, I got a reply from Consulate General of Canada that they would create a favor condition for me and complete it as soon as possible. But there is no guarantee about I will be able to get visa sooner the regulation requires. There is one week left and I’m on the last step of Canadian visa procedure. I’m still waiting for a miracle.

The last effort for a dream of my lifetime.

It must be fine.


P.s: Thanks #jin and #jongchan for helping me fix that letter. Thanks a lot.


D2C5AE91-B50F-4801-8C7D-770C23F1141B.jpeg


By: @hanggggbeeee

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center