Muxxy Goes West - Bureaucracy

17_1103_DHS-Seal_Facebook-OG.jpg

Preparing my trip to Gatlinburg next month, it never occurred to me that I might need a visa to enter the US: I have only ever traveled inside Europe before, and one of the few benefits is easyish access for EU citizens to member states.

Armed with the power of Google I searched for visa requirements from the UK. The UK Govt website states that so long as you are a British citizen and hold an ePassport then it's a simple matter of filling out an ESTA (Electronic System for Travel Authorisation) application into the Visa Waiver Programme, which allows travel to the US for up to 90 days. This costs $14 for the privilege.

Naturally, passport and personal details are entered as well as the name, address and telephone number of a US point of contact. Thanks @rhondak ;-) One weird question was

Do you seek to engage in or have you ever engaged in terrorist activities, espionage, sabotage, or genocide?

If someone was to, would they seriously tell the DHS? Avoiding the temptation to use my British sarcasm I answered 'no' just in case.

I made the application this afternoon and by early evening, it was accepted. Yay!


Source

Brace yourselves America. Muxxy's coming!



Are you a writer or keen to learn? Do you wish to join a community of like-minded individuals who can help hone your writing skills in the fields of fiction, non-fiction, technical, poetry, or songwriting? Join us at The Writers' Block by clicking the logo below.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center