As the saying goes, “The world is your playground, so play in it!”

I was a late bloomer when it came to traveling but I had to start somewhere. One of the places I’ve always wanted to visit was Hawaii. So last year I decided to take a trip out Kona aka The Big Island. Luckily for me, my good friend Ennie was working as a traveling nurse out in Kona. At the time, she had about two months left on her assignment so I decided to pay her a visit.

From start to finish, my time in Kona was an absolute adventure. I thought I was the only one visiting but it turned out my friend Ennie’s college buddies were visiting as well. Together we formed a nice little wolf pack during our time in Kona. We explored much of the island and we really got to appreciate Hawaii for its natural beauty. We got to experience everything from jumping off cliffs into crystal clear ocean water, sitting on the edge a waterfall, witnessing the ominous glow of an active volcano at night, swimming with sea turtles in a tide pool (we still have all our toes and fingers), exploring underground caves formed by lava flow, to just napping on a beachside hammock with some fresh avocado and seafood in hand. It was one of the few times where I really felt like the world was my playground and I was very thankful and humbled for the opportunity to play in it.

In all, my Big Island experience was more than just a vacation. It was a reunion, an adventure, a time of relaxation and reflection, and greater appreciation for people, this planet, and all that life has to offer.
With all that said, here are some of photos I took during my time in Kona, (The Big Island) Hawaii.

IMG_4362.JPG
Life's a beach. When in Hawaii, it's 24/7
IMG_4463.JPG
One of many waterfalls on the island.
IMG_4385.JPG
Roadside scenic view halfway up our drive to Mauna Kea.
IMG_4449.JPG
Night glow!![IMG_4362.JPG]
IMG_4261.JPG
Nothing beats super fresh home-made food.
IMG_4285.JPG
From big ocean waves to ominous lava caves.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now