Architectural Eye Candy

When I travel I try to see as much as I can in the city I go to... When we arrived in Barcelona the woman at the concierge told us that 7 days were too many and that just 3 would be enough to see everything -she didn't seem to like her city that much. However my greedy appetite to explore more, was not satisfied with one whole week either. In fact I wish I had a few more days to also visit the Picasso museum I wanted to go so badly but I didn't have time..

What impressed me the most in Barcelona were the works of Gaudi and Park Güell in specific...

The Park Güell is a public park system composed of gardens and beautiful architectonic elements located on Carmel Hill, in Barcelona. It was built between 1900 and 1914 and was officially opened as a public park in 1926. In 1984, UNESCO declared the park a World Heritage Site under "Works of Antoni Gaudi".

20110729_130547.JPG

The park is really amazing, very interesting and generally I'm a sucker for anything beautiful, unique, creative and inspirational -Gaudi is known for his unique architecture. The kid inside me was so excited with all those colours and shapes in this artistic place and everything there gave me the impression of being edible! It actually reminded me of the Hansel and Gretel fairy tale where the house was constructed of cake, confectionery, candy, and many more treats -thankfully there was no cannibalistic witch involved in the park...

20110729_133141.JPG

20110729_132751.JPG

20110729_125816.JPG

But truth be told there are several architecturally interesting buildings scattered all over the city that capture the eye. Like Gaudi's Casa Batlló...

Or our unique hotel designed by someone less famous...

20110726_175444.JPG

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center