Drinking Animal Poop & Swinging High in Bali 🇮🇩

There’s SO Much to Catch-Up On!

Just a heads up that I’m writing today’s post completely from my phone. So I apologize if there are any errors. The internet is pretty horrible at our hotel so I’m using my phone’s data (and touchscreen). That’s commitment, right!? This also explains why I haven’t been posting the last two days.

Anyways, we made it to Bali at 1am on the 13th and we’ve been exploring as much of the island as we can in the short amount of time we that have here. And I think we’ve done an awesome job!

Here’s just part of our Bali highlights...

Kopi Luwak Coffee ☕️

0D05E29A-DB73-4E34-A649-C44296601B26.jpeg

If you’re a coffee lover then you’ve probably heard of Kopi Luwak. It’s possibly the most expensive coffee in the world. Or at least it is outside of Bali. But this island is where Kopi Luwak was born.

Legend has it that the Dutch Colonies of the 18th century farmed coffee on this land but wouldn’t let the locals even try this delicious and highly sought after beverage. No beans were to even leave the plantations unless it was to board a ship and be sent off to a far away land for sale.

But what they didn’t know is that the beans were being eaten by the Asian palm civet (Luwak) and pooped out in the surrounding areas. Locals, eager to try coffee themselves, collected the poop of the Luwak where the beans had remained intact. They carefully cleaned, processed, roasted, and brewed these beans which gave them an extremely smooth coffee beverage. When the plantation owners found out, and tried it for themselves, they were amazed at the taste. They then began marketing it to the world but the market wasn’t interested lol. I, on the other hand, have waited years to try it!

5C7000BF-B3FB-46A7-AABE-824C1BD2A5A6.jpeg

It was very smooth and I even bought a bag to bring back with me to the states. At $35 a bag I couldn’t resist. It typically goes for $150-300 for a similar size bag.

Giant Swings of Bali

29E1082A-CA75-4673-AA13-4230610A8728.jpeg

Lucky for us, there was an entire swing park attached to the coffee house where we tried the coffee. These huge swings are a somewhat new phenomenon in Bali. I don’t know the story of how these big swings became a thing, but I’m glad they did. They’re fun!!

EC98D121-88CA-43F2-850A-7A95D1415BD9.jpeg

EE7CB68B-5ABF-4997-9A21-3B5D4E0F304D.jpeg

For $10 a person, it was well worth it!

So Much More to Share

I’m going to have to break up each post a little because it takes FOREVER writing all of this on my phone and uploading the pics over my data, but I’ve got a LOT more to share. So stay tuned!..

5ABB2107-CC1D-4840-8957-D8BF9B8113BA.jpeg

In the meantime, here’s a food pic for you food lovers out there. Bali does not disappoint with their local cuisine!! 😋

hr.png

Recent Posts


hr.png

hr.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now