Thoughts While Hiking Snowdon


This was taken looking down the 'miner's path' away from Snowdon peak.

I've given myself a week off. Initially the plan was to fly to somewhere in the Canaries with a big stack of books. However I decided to stay more local instead. Two days in Snowdonia National Park sounded like a good idea, so off I set without a clear itinerary, except that I wanted to do some hill walking.

For those that don't know, Snowdonia National Park is in North Wales and is composed of some 60 peaks, the largest being Snowdon at 3,500 feet (just over 1000 meters). It's a popular area for walkers, climbers, kayakers...you know, outdoor types.

Arrived in the absolutely pouring rain to a little slate-mining town in the middle of the national park called Blaenae Ffestiniog (no, I don't know how to pronounce it either!). Booking.com got me a room in the local hotel for £50, here's the view from my room:

Hopefully you can get an idea of the austere beaut

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now