Sweetheart run and another #runforsteem entry

Today was a better run than most, because my sweetheart came along. This is what I look like shadowing her.

DJK35728.jpg
Frame Lake still frozen over


I'm using this to re-enter the #runforsteem challenge as a triplicate entry this week. There is no additional reward for doing so, but I want to see @jumowa get more entries.

Here is my strava report
Untitled-1.jpg

Here is the challenge - https://steemit.com/runforsteem/@jumowa/weekly-run-for-steem-challenge-apr-11th-apr-19th-and-payout-for-last-week


Judi's first foray into trailrunning, since she mostly enjoys the treadmill. I was excited to show her a favourite 'winter only' strava segment and tickled to see her on the leaderboard.

This is one of my favourite leaderboards because you can only do it if you are a cold weather runner. Plus we who run it in the harshest weather know what January runs mean.

Speed is almost irrelevant on this segment, because conditions can change so much day to day.

Judi was good enough to take a few photos of me, and let me share them here.

DJK35736.jpg
Frame Lake Trail


This statue was created by an artist who died a few years ago, Francois Thibeault. I didn't know him that well, but certainly think he is worth remembering, so here is a memory.

Mr. Thibeault had a small shop on Franklin Avenue some years ago. I wandered in and chatted with him. I wasn't buying anything, but when discussing a project I was doing, he told me about a ready source of sheet brass - known as shim stock. I ordered some, very inexpensively from a machine supplies place compared to what I saw at the hobby shop. Saved me money plus I ended up with a lot more. Smart and generous is a great combination. I'm glad I met him.

I believe he titled the piece 'Celebration of Life'. I mostly refer to it as the 'Celebration of Threesomes' statue. I hope he wouldn't have been offended.

DJK35776.jpg
Celebration of Life - Somba K'e Park


Here is a bit more of Frame Lake trail

DJK35746.jpg


And this is my sweetheart chasing me across Frame Lake. :)

DJK35787.jpg

Finally, one of the many dogs out enjoying the day. It must have been fun, because a parade had formed behind him. A true leader.

DJK35817.jpg


Thanks for running by.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center