Is there any kind of therapy that incorporates counselling with touch? I’m desperately touch-starved and need more than my psychologist can offer. I need some kind of therapy where I can be hugged or at least have my hand held.

I did not think there was, and would be inclined to point out the problems associated with things like hugs and other forms of touch in therapy that others have pointed out.

And then over the summer I actually met a therapist who does practice a form of touch therapy which includes hugs. I forget what the modality is, but such modalities do exist. So, go ahead and research it. You could try the keywords: “Therapy modalities that use touch” or something along those lines.

Since you have an existing therapist, you could also discuss this with her and she may be able to provide some assistance in researching it and might even be able to give you a referral to a good practitioner.

In the mean time, the other suggestions offered about getting involved in activities that involve touch such as ballroom dancing, getting a massage, adopting an animal, that sort of thing, are really excellent ones. Even with there being touch therapy modalities out there, you probably don’t want your therapist to be your sole source of that kind of support.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center