Are there issues in your life, seemingly, unbearable/unsustainable? Are you actively working on these particular issues, in therapy, or holding back?

This answer is very much colored by having already spent several hours in Internal Family Systems training.

So one of my issues is that I feel this very visceral terror around losing M or losing our connection or losing our relationship. It’s like… that’s the one thing that absolutely can’t happen ever.

M’s goal for me, as it should be, is to help me get to the point where I no longer need therapy. But since that would mean the possible or likely end of the relationship, I must have a slew of protector parts going no freaking way will we allow that to happen under any circumstances.

Ya think that might be unsustainable?

Unbearable too, if I’m honest.

Why yes, I’ll be working on these… issues.

Takes sheepish bow and exits stage right.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center