Fast and Furious Ink Festival Challenge - Day Three Prompt - Style

Mind flies fingers run

This is my publication in response to the fast and furious festival task of the theinkwell community. The festival aims to challenge writers to write at least 25 minutes a day (or more if you wish) following the day's assignments.

My task today is to choose as many as you want from the following tasks (one is fine): Day Three Prompt - Style

Imagen de Engin_Akyurt en Pixabay


Task One

Here's two examples from @jayna's post:

A brief excerpt from Hemingway’s novel The Sun Also Rises:

In the morning I walked down the Boulevard to the rue Soufflot for coffee and brioche. It was a fine morning. The horse-chestnut trees in the Luxembourg gardens were in bloom. There was the pleasant early-morning feeling of a hot day. I read the papers with the coffee and then smoked a cigarette. The flower-women were coming up from the market and arranging their daily stock. Students went by going up to the law school, or down to the Sorbonne. The Boulevard was busy with trams and people going to work.

And one from Donna Tartt's novel The Goldfinch:

Chaotic room-service trays; too many cigarettes; lukewarm vodka from duty free. During those restless, shut-up days, I got to know every inch of the room as a prisoner comes to know his cell. It was my first time in Amsterdam; I'd seen almost nothing of the city and yet the room itself, in its bleak, drafty, sunscrubbed beauty, gave a keen sense of Northern Europe, a model of the Netherlands in miniature: whitewash and Protestant probity, co-mingled with deep-dyed luxury brought in merchant ships from the East. I spent an unreasonable amount of time scrutinizing a tiny pair of gilt-framed oils hanging over the bureau, one of peasants skating on an ice-pond by a church, the other a sailboat flouncing on a choppy winter sea: decorative copies, nothing special, though I studied them as if they held, encrypted, some key to the secret heart of the old Flemish masters. Outside, sleet tapped at the windowpanes and drizzled over the canal; and though the brocades were rich and the carpet was soft, still the winter light carried a chilly tone of 1943, privation and austerities, weak tea without sugar and hungry to bed.
In your post, explore the differences between the two excerpts. How does each one make you feel as you are reading it? Try to analyse how each writer is achieving their effect. What sort of words are they using? How are their sentences constructed? Are they simple and straightforward or more complicated? Which tenses are they using?

Ink Well Fast and Furious Festival Quote - Day three

Answer

How does each one make you feel while reading it?

Text 1: It makes me feel the freshness of the morning, a day to relax and rest.
Text 2: Sense of being closed in, annoyed, anxious, tired.

What kind of words are you using?

Text 1: Free simple words without qualifying adjectives.
Text 2: Elegant words with qualifying adjectives such as the soft carpet, the winter light still had a cold tone. More description of the environment.

How do you build your sentences?

Text 1: his sentences were simple, with an absence of interrogative, exclamatory, imperative sentences.
His sentences followed the pattern of subject + verb + predicate.
Text 2: sentences with greater grammatical structure, using comparative adjectives. Example: I got to know every inch of the room as a prisoner gets to know his cell.

What tenses are they using?

Text 1 and Text 2: Past Continuous, because it tells us about an action that was taking place at a moment in the past.

It is important to emphasize that I am not an expert in literature or grammar, this is my humble opinion about the fragments of the example of task 1. I am in the process of learning and I am sure that I have some mistakes in my appreciation. However, I took the task of researching, reading, and comparing to give the most accurate answer possible.

I would like to know your opinion and guidance on this particular task.


Task Two

1.Write down five emotions (for example, anger, joy, sadness, fear, hatred) on slips of paper and slip them into a hat or other container.
2.Now pick an object inside or outside where you are writing - a tree, a picture, a window.
3.Draw one emotion from the container, and try to describe that object from the perspective of a character feeling that emotion. (Don’t mention the emotion in your writing — try to describe the object so the reader could guess the emotion).

When you have finished, have a look at your writing and see if you can find three words to describe your own writing voice - add them to your post.

Ink Well Fast and Furious Festival Quote - Day Two

Answer

IMG_20210116_105939.jpg

IMG_20210116_110319.jpg

Object: a towel

The soft bristles that compose you make me shudder when you touch my skin, it feels so good to dry the drops of water that remain on my body that it leads me to enjoy the moment, your color represents the green nature that revolves around me, filling with hope the day that begins and with a slight smile I feel encouraged to create a new day. I take a deep breath and enjoy the smell you emanate with your soft bristles improving my mood and vitality.

Words to describe my writing voice: simple, poetic, concise.

Today, on the third day of the festival, I feel more committed to the development of the activity and to the learning that I have been acquiring.

Today's activity took me approximately 3 hours, because I had to read the fragments several times to be able to analyze them. I also had to resort to external sources to answer the questions of task 1.

Let's play guess what was the emotion felt by the character of task two? I look forward to your comments.

Thank you very much for reading me.

The image used today is pixabay free license and was edited by me with the program canva the author credits under the image. If you want to participate in this or the next writing challenges you can go to The Ink Well Fast and Furious festival page or to the challenge page on day three.


style @soyunasantacruz
© Jan. 2021, Ana Maria santacruz. All rights reserved


Some of my publications/ Algunas de mis publicaciones

Fast and Furious Ink Festival Challenge - Day Two

Fast and Furious Ink Festival Challenge - Day One

cyxkEVqiiLy4DPBjkBUodgFVzaJpLatg2rKkL12dQKRs9zM7H4QryxbHmPVZkpRZtCmrXMxGwTrxSg58N9eTCszmuifGQZgM6YkQroq7jU1D9LeKhx6piMVnZXEML4Ezj66.jpg

99pyU5Ga1kwqm3JqesroMzq9P7BqLPddV4UMh6u2T8M8jpRwtfqTH5SSYonSYgHtqnK3BDFi9szGwXqafPfm8V6RvL5kGc6di4eytJdRX34GiCF2iXdFTSf3HZ1SWfzzWi.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency