Fast and Furious Ink Festival Challenge - Day One

Mind flies fingers run

This is my publication in response to the fast and furious festival task of the theinkwell community. The festival aims to challenge writers to write at least 25 minutes a day (or more if you wish) following the day's assignments.

Today's message and challenge revolve around dialogue and are divided into two tasks.

Imagen de Engin_Akyurt en Pixabay


Task One

In your post, take what you learn about each of the three characters from the dialogue in the extract below and then develop them until you have a paragraph describing the character more fully.

A woman in a restaurant whispers to her friend:
"You know who that is over there, don't you?"
The other woman surreptiously glances at the other table:
"No, who?"
"That's just it, she's had so much work done you don't recognise her. That's Betty Grainger."
"No!"
"Yes, she's had her nose done, cheeks lifted, even a hair transplant."
"Whatever for?"
"She's going into politics."
"Seriously, that's really her?" * (69 words)

Ink Well Fast and Furious Festival Quote - Day One

First character:

She is an adult woman of 48 years old, with many accessories on her, necklaces, bracelets, rings, earrings, badly made up, but she feels she is elegant and in fashion. Divorced and with two children studying at universities far from home, which forces her to go out with her friends to forget the loneliness she has at home. She has no reading habits, nor does she like cooking. They only entertain themselves at home watching soap operas and reality shows by artists from the past.

Second character:

She is a young woman of 40 years old, single but always looking for love, once she leaves work in the afternoons she meets with some friends for coffee and to pass the time while the night arrives. She dresses well, according to her age and is distracted, she is not aware of her surroundings, nor of the other women, she only tries to look at the gentlemen to see if any of them crosses her gaze with her, she usually goes unnoticed by the opposite sex.

Third character:

55 year old woman with a tense face, without facial expression, it is difficult to know if she is upset, sad or happy, the application of Botox has indiscriminately gone out of control, however, she is of happy spirit and likes to have fun in night clubs and high society bars. He uses a striking and sober wardrobe, a little elegant, but imitating great brands. N0 aspires to any public office, just wants to catch a millionaire widower of the city.


Task Two

Write a short dialogue, like the one above, no more than 70-100 words, where two characters are talking about a third one. What can you reveal about your characters in your dialogue?

Dialogue

  • Hi honey, how was work?
  • Very bad, I don't want to talk about it.
  • What's wrong, so serious were the problem, maybe I can help you, what happened?
  • For helping luisa, i was late in my own homework and at the end of the day that detrimental me, i didn't deliver my analysis on time and the boss scolded me.
  • What a rage, sometimes by trying to be good to others we harm ourselves.
  • Yes, and she didn't even thank me.
  • Well, you've learned your lesson, don't get distracted in your work, first your own and then help others.

In the task one I had fun describing the characters that came to my mind through the dialogue, it was easy to create a profile of each character based on the short lines of dialogue.

In task two, I wrote the first thing that came to my mind, trying to create a clear definition of the characters without using names, I don't know if I succeeded because my mother tongue is Spanish and I must confess that I use the translator, in Spanish they use many punctuation marks to express the emotions and the meaning of the words, I dared to compete because I like this kind of contests that motivate creativity.

It takes just half an hour and 30 minutes to complete the tasks, 2 hours searching and editing the image hehehe, that always happens to me, I consume more time on the images and layout of the publication. In total it was a 3 hour production.

I would like to know if the answer to task two which is dialogue makes sense to you and what you thought of my participation, suggestions, recommendations, advice are accepted.

In the dialogue I perform, I also invite you to describe my characters, who were talking, Vivian together, as they were. Your comment will coincide with my characters, try it and I will give you the answer.

Thank you very much for reading me.

The image used today is from pixabay free license and was edited by me with the program canva the credits of the author under the image. If you want to participate in this or the next writing challenges you can go to The Ink Well Fast and Furious festival page


style @soyunasantacruz
© Jan. 2021, Ana Maria santacruz. All rights reserved


cyxkEVqiiLy4DPBjkBUodgFVzaJpLatg2rKkL12dQKRs9zM7H4QryxbHmPVZkpRZtCmrXMxGwTrxSg58N9eTCszmuifGQZgM6YkQroq7jU1D9LeKhx6piMVnZXEML4Ezj66.jpg

99pyU5Ga1kwqm3JqesroMzq9P7BqLPddV4UMh6u2T8M8jpRwtfqTH5SSYonSYgHtqnK3BDFi9szGwXqafPfm8V6RvL5kGc6di4eytJdRX34GiCF2iXdFTSf3HZ1SWfzzWi.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
31 Comments
Ecency