RE: RE: Automation, Value, and Social Progress
You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Automation, Value, and Social Progress

RE: Automation, Value, and Social Progress

"...people will adapt in ways we can't yet foresee." That is how I feel as well. It's an extremely hopeful outlook.

As to societal collapse, whatever form that may take, have you read much about the Universal Basic Income idea? It's something I really can't wrap my head around yet, as it involves government, but the idea sounds... Intriguing? I guess that's the word I'm looking for.

The basic idea is that, as automation theoretically drives folks to perpetual joblessness (a somewhat preposterous notion to me), the government will provide a basic income to every citizen (an even more preposterous notion). I'm an anarchist through-and-through, so it's hard for me to even fathom that level of market interference, but I can't help but wonder about a free market movement with a similar end.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center