Day 48: 1200 mile walk from Cornwall to Caithness, UK (North Coast)

Monday 28th June 2010

Only 30 miles remain for me to reach John O' Groats! I walked 21 miles today along the coastal road and plan to do the rest tomorrow. With a 6am start I should be there by 5pm. Then I will travel to the Orkney islands and rest and see the sights for a few days. The photo today shows a small fenced off field on the cliff tops just next to the coastal road. The sign says "Marie Curie Cancer Care - Field of Hope". There is no more information than that and nothing obviously different about the field compared with the surrounding area. It struck me as really quite strange that this field has been set aside by a charity with this sign but no explanation of its purpose. Tonight I am sleeping in an apparently abandoned barn giving me somewhere dry to rest without having to put the tent up.

Day48_MarieCurieField.jpg
Marie Curie filed of hope - a puzzling piece of fenced off area in the middle of nowhere apparently owned by a cancer charity

Day48_Map.jpg

Daily stats:

Start -Hill Betty
Finish - Reay
Mileage - 21 miles/33km
Feeling - Still tired from the last couple of days but excited about finishing my trek!
Sleeping - in an old abandoned barn

That's all folks ;-)

This trek took place in 2010 before the wonderfulness of STEEM existed. I was trekking in aid of Naomi House Children's Hospice in Hampshire, England, and writing and posting the blog from my iPhone 3gs (so if you're wondering why the photo's aren't that good...) if you want to see the original blog it is here but I rather hope you choose to follow me instead. Thanks Steemians!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center