Morning stretch and strengthen - Part 1

I have a daily routine that requires manual labor, and some activities that can strain the back. To prepare for each morning's work, over time I have developed my own, personal 20 minute morning exercise. It started out as a standard "Surya Namaskar", or Sun Salutation, of which most are familiar. I then modified it greatly by incorporating controlled breathing, slow, tai chi type movements, and some shoulder and back strengthening movements.

This is a video of the first part of a morning exercise that I do daily. The second part, which I will record and upload soon, gets into more stretching work and more (lower) back strengthening, and ends with a 20 second headstand.

Everyone should consider a morning routine that brings the body slowly back into a waking state, while preparing it for the physical and mental challenges ahead.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center