Poem Title: I'm LOST

Trying to follow the path society told me i was meant to follow, i lost myself.
They said i needed to go to school, get a job, make money, get a big house and fill it with stuffs i will never use.
I should get married and have a kid because why not, it is what everybody does.
They never asked me what i wanted, it didn't matter because they are always right.

They showed me what beauty looks like and if i went aside the spectrum of their ideal, i should be ashamed of myself and starve myself if i have to, so i can fit into what is deemed right.

They told me, if anyone else looks different from me or what they showed me was ideal, i should mock them until they join the team called SOCIETAL NORMS and if they don't join, they should be so ashamed of themselves until they take their own life.

They said if i was ever in pain due to what i was told to do, i should just take a drug, alcohol, sex or food to numb the pain and it will all go away.

What they never told me, was that, all these anesthetics will not numb the pain forever and will make me lose myself more.
They never told me that the side effects was worse than the pain i felt.
They never told me, i didn't have to follow their orders to begin with, that i could be different and do what they called "rebellion" BUT Now it is too late because I'm lost, what do i do? Where do i go from here because i don't know the one staring back at me in the mirror, I'm LOST!

THANKS FOR READING!
P. S: Suicide is never the answer, don't let society drown you in their mess, you can stand alone. BE willing to stand In your own truth and always remember to ask for help!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now